Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MCOM 186: Media Inquiry (Feliciano Ortiz) Spring 2022-03 and -04

Databases

Databases provide access to articles and other information; sometimes the full text is available but sometimes only the abstract and citation information are available (in which case you can request the item through interlibrary loan). Databases can include access to peer-reviewed articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, etc.  Some are specialized by topic, and some are interdisciplinary.  Milne Library subscribes to hundreds of databases.  Those listed below are a good start for your work in this class, but you can also see the full listing by clicking on the Databases tab from the library's website.

In order to search the databases that the library subscribes to, you must access them through the library's website.  If you are accessing them remotely, you will be asked to log in.  Please contact me if you have any problems accessing any of the databases.

Video Tutorial

For a quick overview of Academic Search Complete, watch the short and information-packed video below.  Many of the tips and tricks you'll learn in this video can be applied to other databases, including those above!  

Communication Databases

General Databases

Newspaper Databases