Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals and Essays/Chapters in Books
For academic research, it is often important to use peer reviewed (or refereed) journals rather
than popular magazines. Peer-review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by
experts in the field.
All of the following databases are listed on the website alphabetically by title under the tab
Databases. Databases are categorized under Browse by Discipline.
Databases Covering History
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for selected scholarly journals and popular magazines across the disciplines.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowFull text of journals available from publishers supporting open access.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full text of scholarly journals in many subject areas, but excludes coverage for the last 3-5 years.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of journal articles in the social sciences and humanities and updates coverage of selected journals included in JSTOR.
Databases Covering Women’s and Gender Studies
- Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of popular and scholarly sources in the area of gender studies. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides selected full text of journals, newsletters and research reports on studies of women and gender.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition)Offers a record of women’s reform and social movements in books, images, documents, scholarly essays, and bibliographies.