MATH 301 (MATH 3010): History of Mathematics (Knudsen) Spring 2022 301:01

This encyclopedia provides the most complete treatment to date of the accomplishments of African American scientists--and the struggles of African Americans to find their place in the scientific community. This comprehensive reference work sheds new light on an aspect of African American life that is often overlooked. More than a summary of individuals and accomplishments, African Americans in Science: An Encyclopedia of People and Progress explores the entire experience of African Americans seeking a place in the scientific community--not just the triumphs but the frustrations, discriminations, and the efforts to support (and sometimes impede) African American scientists. African Americans in Science offers alphabetically organized entries in three areas: the contributions of African Americans in over 30 different fields of science and medicine, schools and organizations that played a role in the development of African American scientists, and additional topics related to African American scientists. No other reference offers such a complete and up-to-date portrait of the pivotal work of African Americans across the spectrum of scientific research and what it took to achieve it. Over 250 alphabetically organized entries covering the breadth of scientific achievements by African Americans, as well as the institutions and organizations dedicated to helping African Americans pursue scientific careers An extensive bibliography of both print and online sources for further reading Indexes organized by individual name and by discipline Overview entries on issues such as scientific theories of race, the Tuskegee syphilis experiment, and African Americans in various scientific fields

Presents alphabetized biographical profiles of important contemporary and historic African-Americans in the fields of math, science, and invention. Each entry includes a further reading list.

This respected resource is a biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available. Volume 8 of the set is a comprehensive index listing scientists by field, and by stale under field.

This fascinating biographical dictionary surveys the American women who have made significant contributions to major fields of scientific endeavor since 1950. In American Women in Science, each of the concise A-Z biographies of more than 300 women includes information on the woman's background, employment history, honors, and publications, and then places her achievements in the appropriate scientific and social context. Other features include illustrations, bibliographic references, and an index that lists women by scientific discipline. Among the biographical entries are Jane Brody, Helen Mary Caldicott, Ada E. Deer, Jane Delgado, Dian Fossey, Margaret Hamilton, Devrie Intriligator, Shirley Ann Jackson, and Judith Kimble. All biographical entries are indexed by profession, name, and subject, making this an outstanding reference for students and teachers of women's studies and science as well as anyone interested in the scientific achievements of women. Biographical entries of female scientific figures from Jane Brody and Helen Mary Caldicott to Shirley Ann Jackson and Judith Kimble All entries are indexed by profession, name, and subject Bibliographic references and illustrations

Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

Here, at last, is the massively updated and augmented second edition of this landmark encyclopedia. It contains approximately 1000 entries dealing in depth with the history of the scientific, technological and medical accomplishments of cultures outside of the United States and Europe. The entries consist of fully updated articles together with hundreds of entirely new topics. This unique reference work includes intercultural articles on broad topics such as mathematics and astronomy as well as thoughtful philosophical articles on concepts and ideas related to the study of non-Western Science, such as rationality, objectivity, and method. You'll also find material on religion and science, East and West, and magic and science.

Mathematics is at the root of modern civilization, from measuring temperature on a frigid day to driving a car to using a digital camera; enthusiasts might say applied mathematics rules the world. The Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society presents some 490 articles showing the math behind our daily lives, explaining to students how and why math works, and allowing readers to better understand how disciplines such as algebra, geometry, calculus, and others affect what we do every day. this outstanding reference is appropriate for both high school and undergraduate programs, making the content readily accessible to public library patrons as well.

This 5,800-page encyclopedia surveys 100 generations of great thinkers, offering more than 2,000 detailed biographies of scientists, engineers, explorers and inventors who left their mark on the history of science and technology. This six-volume masterwork also includes 380 articles summarizing the time-line of ideas in the leading fields of science, technology, mathematics and philosophy.

A systematic survey and comparison of the work of 19th-century American and British women in scientific research, this book covers the two countries in which women of the period were most active in scientific work and examines all the fields in which they were engaged.

A fascinating analysis of the work of notable women by national group, giving thorough data comparing the contributions of women in choice fields. Among the women presented are more than a few colorful personalities representative of the entire social scale, from a royal princess to the daughter of a Paris slum shopkeeper. Researchers in the field of women's history and science history will find this indexed volume a valuable resource.

Published in 1998, Ladies in the Laboratory provided a systematic survey and comparison of the work of 19th-century American and British women in scientific research. A companion volume, published in 2004, focused on women scientists from Western Europe. In this third volume, author Mary R.S. Creese expands her scope to include the contributions of 19th- and early 20th-century women of South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and Canada.The women whose lives and work are discussed here range from natural history collectors and scientific illustrators of the early and mid years of the 19th century to the first generation of graduates of the new colonial colleges and universities. Rarely acknowledged in publications of the British and European specialists, the contributions of these women nonetheless formed a significant part of the natural history information about extensive, previously unknown regions and their products.Rather than a biographical dictionary or a collection of self-contained essays on individuals from many time periods, Ladies in the Laboratory III is a connected narrative tied into the wider framework of 19th-century science and education. A well-organized blend of individual life stories and quantitative information, this volume is for everyone interested in the story of women's participation in 19th century science. The stories of these women make for fascinating reading and serve as a valuable source for the student of women's and colonial history.

The first volume of Ladies in the Laboratory provided a systematic survey and comparison of the work of nineteenth-century American and British women in scientific research. Companion volumes focused on women scientists from Western Europe and the former British colonial territories of South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and Canada. In Ladies in the Laboratory IV, Mary R.S. Creese expands her scope to include the contributions of nineteenth-century women of Imperial Russia. Many of these women believed that science was the key to social progress, and the great advances in scientific research--work in which Russians had leading roles--made scientific training especially attractive. Featuring biographical sketches of more than 120 women, this volume covers individuals whose scientific research encompassed medicine, chemistry, zoology, botany, and paleontology. Organized into chapters by field, the entries provide details about the personal backgrounds as well as professional achievements of these remarkable women. A well-organized blend of individual life stories and quantitative information, this volume is for everyone interested in nineteenth-century science. The stories of these women make for fascinating reading and serve as a valuable source for those who want to learn more about the history of women in science and medicine as well as nineteenth-century Russian history.

"Time to meet an increase in the lives of mathematicians, this volume covers over 300 of them, from antiquity to the present. Many contemporary African-American, Asian-American, and Hispanic-American women are included. The alphabetically arranged entries contain a heading with name, birth and death dates, field of specialization, nationality, and ethnicity when applicable, as well as a picture when possible. An accompanying essay describes the life and significant contribution of the person to the field of mathematics with suggestions for further information, which include books, periodicals, documentaries, and Web sites. The list of milestones in mathematics begins at 50,000 BC with evidence of primitve counting and continues until the present."--"Outstanding Reference Sources : the 1999 Selection of New Titles", American Libraries, May 1999. Comp. by the Reference Sources Committee, RUSA, ALA.

This series discusses how the major fields of science developed during specific time periods. Each volume focuses on a range of years and includes developments in exploration, life sciences, mathematics, physical sciences, and technology.

Praise for David Darling The Universal Book of Astronomy ""A first-rate resource for readers and students of popular astronomy and general science. . . . Highly recommended."" -Library Journal ""A comprehensive survey and . . . a rare treat."" -Focus The Complete Book of Spaceflight ""Darling's content and presentation will have any reader moving from entry to entry."" -The Observatory magazine Life Everywhere ""This remarkable book exemplifies the best of today's popular science writing: it is lucid, informative, and thoroughly enjoyable."" -Science Books & Films ""An enthralling introduction to the new science of astrobiology."" -Lynn Margulis Equations of Eternity ""One of the clearest and most eloquent expositions of the quantum conundrum and its philosophical and metaphysical implications that I have read recently."" -The New York Times Deep Time ""A wonderful book. The perfect overview of the universe."" -Larry Niven