Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development Policy

Procedure for Faculty Requesting the Purchase of New Periodical Titles

Faculty requesting that the library purchase new periodical titles to be added to the collection may use the New Electronic Resource Request form or forward the request to their Librarian Liaison and the Head of Bibliographic and Digital Services

The faculty member provides a brief justification for purchasing the title including how the title supports the curricular and scholarly needs of SUNY Oneonta.  The justification may also include how the title covers departmental and/or programmatic priorities or under-represented areas and/or how other academic departments, student groups, or other constituencies may be served by the periodical. 

The E-Resources and Acquisition Librarian obtains a price quote from the appropriate vendor. 

The Collection Development Team meets to discuss the request and makes a recommendation to the Librarian Liaisons. to purchase or not to purchase the title.  

The Librarian Liaison shall advise the requesting faculty of the decision.  

If the Library determines not to purchase the title, the Librarian Liaison provides a brief reason to the requesting faculty member.   

Drafted by Michele Hendley December 21, 2021  

Reviewed by Librarian Liaisons January 13, 2022  

Approved by Darren Chase, Library Director, January 13, 2022  

Revised by Michelle Hendley March 8, 2022 

Reviewed by Collection Development Team April 13, 2022 

Approved by Darren Chase April 13, 2022