Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development Policy

Procedure for Electronic Resources Renewals and Cancellations 

The Head of Bibliographic and Digital Services may request a meeting of the Collection Development Team to discuss e-resources renewals and cancellations.  

The Department of Bibliographic and Digital Services shall provide a list of e-resources that are under consideration ahead of meetings to discuss e-resources renewals and cancellations.  

The “Selection Policy for Electronic Resources” shall guide recommendations for renewal and cancellations.  

The Department of Bibliographic and Digital Services shall generate data on the e-resources under consideration and provide the data to the Collection Development Team.  The Collection Development Team shall make recommendations to the Librarian Liaisons and Evening Supervisor. This data shall also guide recommendations for renewals and cancellations.  

The Evening Supervisor may collect feedback from the Library Support Assistants and forward to the Head of Bibliographic and Digital Services.  

The Head of Bibliographic and Digital Services shall collate and summarize the recommendations from the Collection Development Team for renewal and cancellations with justifications. 

The Head of Bibliographic and Digital Services shall forward the summary of recommendations to the Librarian Liaisons and Evening Supervisor.   

The Head of Bibliographic and Digital Services shall forward the recommendations shall also be forwarded to the Library Director.  

The Library Director shall consult with the Library Committee on the recommendations.  

The Library Director shall make final decisions regarding e-resources renewals and cancellations.   

 

Drafted by Michelle Hendley, February 26, 2021 

Revised March 19, 2021  

Approved by Darren Chase April 1, 2021 

Revised by Michelle Hendley February 1, 2022 

Reviewed by Collection Development Committee February 2, 2022 

Reviewed by Librarian Liaisons and approved by Darren Chase, Library Director, February 10, 2022 

Revised by Michelle Hendley March 8, 2022 

Reviewed by Collection Development Committee April 13, 2022 

Approved by Darren Chase April 13, 2022