Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development Policy

Selection Criteria

The Library collection level is based on guidelines developed by the Research Libraries Group.     

Instructional Support Level: The Library collects materials that support the undergraduate and graduate level curriculum, such as a wide range of primary and secondary works, creative works, selected representative journals, and general and specialized reference works.    

Liaisons use the selection criteria below when evaluating materials to be added to the print collections. These criteria do not apply in their entirety to every item but are used at the liaison’s discretion.

  • Germane to the curriculum  
  • Under-represented areas of scholarship  
  • Reputation, credentials, or authoritativeness of author, publisher, or editor  
  • Quality of scholarship  
  • Positive review in a professional review source  
  • Listing in a reputable subject bibliography or other collection development source  
  • Current or historical significance of the author or subject  
  • Local significance of the author or subject  
  • Faculty or Staff publications (monographs or edited collections)  
  • Social significance of the author or subject  
  • Timeliness and/or permanence  
  • Relevance to the existing collection’s strengths and weaknesses  
  • Uniqueness of content  
  • Suitability of format to Library circulation and use  
  • Physical quality  
  • Date of publication  
  • Geographic coverage  
  • Cost in relation to projected use