Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 104/ALS 104: Introduction to African History (Unangst) Assignment 2 Fall 2021: Course Guide

Librarian: Mary Lynn Bensen

Finding Research Help

Librarians are available to help you in several ways:

  • E-mail Mary Lynn Bensen at maryl.bensen@oneonta.edu
  • Visit the Reference Desk in Milne Library located on the main floor of Milne Library.
  • Call the Reference Desk at Milne Library at 607-436-2722. If the librarian is busy, you can leave a message on voicemail.
  • Email a question to the Reference Desk by clicking on Services>Reference and Instruction Services>Reference Services>Contact on the library web site.
  • Request a research consultation to meet individually with a librarian.  Request on the library web site at Research Consultations under Key Links or directly at the Reference Desk.

Finding Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style                                                             Under Databases on library web site        

           AND

Ref Z 253 U69 (print)

A short library guide to the most commonly cited examples is available online under Citing Sources on the library web site.

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and                              Ref LB 2369 T8 2018

  Dissertations (Turabian)

Finding Print and Electronic Books/Monographs in Milne Library

**Click on Advanced Search under Milne Library on the home page of the library web site.

Select Library Catalog link at the top of the search screen. This is an index to the collections of Milne Library.

Any Field will search for keywords in fields of the item record, including author, title, subject, and contents.  Use the drop-down menu to search for the specific field such as Author, Title, or Subject appropriate to your search.  Use the drop-down menu under Material Type to choose Books.  Click on Search toward the bottom of the screen.

Search Tips

  • Use the asterisk to truncate and search for variations of a word, including plural forms

                  Example:  histor* searches for history(ies), historian(s), historiography(ies),

                  historiographer(s)

  • Use quotation marks to search for a phrase rather than for individual words         

                      Example:  “South Africa”

**Sign in with your SUNY Oneonta username and password to get complete results and to request items from other SUNY libraries through Interlibrary Loan (Resource Sharing).

You can limit your results to those Held by Milne Library or Available Online (limiters on the left of results list).   Click on the book title to get the detailed record for the book with the bibliographic information, contents notes, and subject headings.

For electronic books in Milne Library:         

             1.  Click on the title of the book

2.  Under View Online—Full text availability, link to any database listed and then to

     the full text of the book.  Look for the table of contents, index, or the search box to

     find text about your topic.

 For print books in Milne Library:

1.   Note the availability status.

2.   Go to Get It! and select Request Item for Remote Check Out.

3.   The item will be checked out to you, and you will be notified by e-mail when it is

      available for pick up at the Circulation Desk.

OR

4. Use the information guide Library Floor Plans, to find the book on the shelf and check 

    out the book at the Circulation Desk with your College ID Card.

**Virtual Browse (at the bottom of selected records for print books) gives information about books on the shelf near the selected book title, which can also be useful, since like titles are classed together.

Note the Permalink icon on the detailed record for the book.

Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals Using Library Databases

For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field.  An example of a peer-reviewed journal is the Renaissance Quarterly. An example of a popular magazine is People.   To select scholarly/peer-reviewed publications, click on Scholarly (Peer-reviewed Journals) when searching for, or reviewing results.

All of the following databases are listed alphabetically by title on the library web site under Databases***Starred items are highly recommended sources.

Selected Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History

Gender Studies

History

Finding Copies of Periodical Articles

Locating the full text of an article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, the full text of the article might be available in another database. Try searching for the journal title in the Journals tab on the library web site.  Follow link(s) to listed database(s).  If the article is unavailable in any database, request the article through the Interlibrary Loan link either in the database record or on the library’s web site.

Locating the full text in print or microform:

Note specific issues available in Milne Library.  Periodicals are located in the library’s sub-basement, which is open until 6:00 p.m. Sunday through Thursday, until 5:00 p.m. on Friday, and until 7:00 p.m. on Saturday.  When the sub-basement is closed, you need to request the particular title and issue through the remote request form on the record or at the Circulation Desk.

Finding an Article in a Particular Journal Title

  • Use the Journals tab at the top of the library home page.
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Past and Present, in the search box.  The title of the periodical, if available, will appear at the top of the results list.  Click on the title of the periodical.
  • If the title is available in a database, link to the appropriate database where you can search for the article needed.  Check dates of coverage to determine if full text for the needed article is available. 
  • If the title is available in print or microfilm, see above for directions.

 

Mary Lynn Bensen (maryl.bensen@oneonta.edu)

Milne Library, SUNY Oneonta
September 2021