Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTH 331: Human Skeletal Anatomy (Betsinger) Fall 2021: Course Guide

Librarian: Michelle Hendley

Finding Scholarly Print and Electronic Books in Milne Library

To search for books in Milne Library, click on the Search tab on the library’s home page. Then select Advanced Search. Then click on Sign in and login using your SUNY Oneonta username and password.  Once signed in, select Library Catalog and change Material Type from All items to Books. Enter search terms and click on SEARCH.  You can limit your search results to Available online (e-books) or Held by Library (print books). 

Finding Scholarly Print Books in other Libraries

To expand the search to locate books at other SUNY libraries, select SUNY CatalogEnter search terms and click on SEARCH. Books that are in other SUNY libraries will be indicated by Check for available services >.  To request the book, click on Check for available services > then click on Resource Sharing. Scroll down to the link, SEND REQUEST. Click on the link.

WorldCat

Comprehensive database of books, journals, and media owned by libraries in the United States.  Requires a SUNY Oneonta login from off-campus. To search WorldCat, click on the WorldCat tab and select the link WorldCat FirstSearch.

Finding Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

For a definition, characteristics, and example of a peer-reviewed article please click on the following link: https://oneonta.libanswers.com/faq/292198

Anthropology Databases

General Databases with Anthropology Scholarly Journals

Finding a Copy of an Article from a Database

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form

Full text articles available directly in databases are indicated by HTML Full Text or PDF Full TextFull text articles available with the wording Linked Full Text are available in another database.  Clicking on the link will connect either to the full text article or the other database.

Requesting an article on interlibrary loan

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article using the library’s interlibrary loan system (ILLiad).  Please ask a librarian for assistance or go to the ILLiad page for further information. 

Finding an Article in a Specific Journal

  • Use the Journals tab on the library home page. 
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Current Anthropology, in the search box. 
  • Look for the journal title in the results list.
  • Online journals are available through the link, Available Online.  If the journal is in print, its availability and location in the library will be indicated. 
  • To obtain an online copy of an article, click on the Available Online link and go to the section, Full text availability, and click on an appropriate database.
  • Link to the correct issue of the periodical (note the year, issue, volume number, and page numbers of the article).

Citing Sources

Links to resources that provide examples of how to write citations, create a works cited list, and format written documents in various styles for several academic disciplines including APA and MLA.

michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu

Revised: September 13, 2021