Research & Course Guides: HIST 300: Imperialism & Popular Culture in Modern Britain (Hendley): Home

Finding Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style Milne Library web site

(under Databases)

Ref Z 253 U69 2010 (print)

A short library guide to the most commonly cited examples is available online under Citing Sources on the library web site.

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, Ref LB 2369 T8 2007

And Dissertations (Turabian)

Finding Background Information

Reference books, specifically encyclopedias and handbooks, provide overviews of a topic and are excellent starting points for research. Entries often include background information, important concepts, names and dates. These sources also often include lists of books and articles for further reading. Reference sources generally do not count toward the number of required sources because they provide background rather than in-depth information.

*Highly recommended sources in following lists

Historians

Blackwell Dictionary of Historians Ref D 14 B58 1988 SB
*Encyclopedia of Historians & Historical Writing Ref D 14 E53 1999
*Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing Ref D 13 G47 1998
Great Historians of the Modern Age Ref D 14 G75 1991

British History

The 1890s: An Encyclopedia of British Literature, Art, Ref DA 560 A18 1993 and Culture
Encyclopedia of European Social History 1350 – 2000 Ref HN 373 E63 2001 v.5, Sec. 19 on popular culture v.1, Sec. 4 on imperialism
*Historical Dictionary of the British Empire Ref DA 16 P315 2015
Oxford Companion to Black British History Ref DA 125 N 4094 2007 SB*
*Oxford Companion to British History Ref DA 34 O93 1997
Oxford Companion to Irish History Ref DA 912 N485 1991 SB
Oxford Illustrated History of the British Army Ref DA 50 O94 1994

World History

Cambridge Histories Online Milne Library web site Complete text of over 350 scholarly books (under Databases) in the Cambridge History Series.
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice Ref HN 1271 E485 2015
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts Ref GN 496 E56 2016
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies Ref PN 849 U43 E535 2016*
Wars that Changed History Ref D 25 T83 2015

Finding Biographies

Ashgate Companion to the History of Textile Workers Ref HD 6039 C6 A74 2010
Biography and Genealogy Master Index Provides citations to short entries in reference books, Milne library web site including the DNB, for historical and contemporary (under Databases) figures.
Compendium of Irish Biography Ref DA 916 W3 1970
Cultural History of Women in the Age of Empire Ref HQ 1121 C83 2013 v. 5
Cultural History of Women in the Modern Age Ref HQ 1121 C83 2013 v. 6
*Dictionary of Labour Biography Ref HD 8393 A1 B44
Dictionary of Women Worldwide Ref CT 3202 D53 2007
Encyclopedia of World Biography Ref CT 103 E56 1997 Includes short essays with references.
Great Lives from History: The 19^th Century 1801-1900 Ref CT 119 G69 2007
*Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) Ref DA 28 O95 2004
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Supplement Ref DA 28 O95 2009* 2001-2004 Research Guide to European Historical Biography Ref CT 759 R47 1992

Finding Print and Electronic Books in Milne Library

**Click on Advanced Search under Search Everything (Library Discovery Service)

Select Library Catalog link at the top of the search screen. This is an index to the print and electronic book collections and the media collection of Milne Library.

Any Field will search for keywords in fields of the item record, including author, title, subject, and contents. Use drop-down menu to search for a specific field such as Author, Title, Subject. Use drop-down menu under Material Type to choose Books. Click on Search toward the bottom of the screen.

Search Tips

Use the asterisk to truncate and search for variations of a word, including plural forms

Example: imperial* searches for imperial, imperialism, imperialist(s)

Use quotation marks to search for a phrase rather than individual words

Example: “Boer War”

**Sign in with your SUNY Oneonta username and password to get complete results and to request items from other SUNY libraries through Interlibrary Loan (Resource Sharing).

You can limit your results to those Held by Milne Library or Available Online (limiters on the left of results list).

Virtual Browse (at the bottom of selected records) gives information about books on the shelf near the selected book title.

For electronic books in Milne Library:

1. Click on the title of the book. By clicking on the QR code in the list of results and scanning the QR code, you will get a link to a copy of your results list.

2. Under View Online—Full text availability, link to any database listed and then to the full text of the book.

For print books in the Circulating Collection in Milne Library:

1. Note the availability status.

2. Go to Get It! and select Request Item for Remote Check-out.

3. The item will be checked out to you, and you will be notified by e-mail when it is

available for pick-up. Pick-up location is in shelving across from the Circulation Desk.

4. Library items can be returned at any time through the book drops either on the exterior

front or back of the building or in the book drop at the Circulation Desk.

5. Returned items will be quarantined for three days.

For print books in the Reference Collection in Milne Library

Books in the Reference Collection are available for 1-day use in the library building.  After use and before reuse, reference books will be quarantined for 3 days.  To request a reference book for pick-up and use in the library:

Find a reference book using the Library Catalog (make sure it says Available at Milne Library….). You can select Reference Collection in the Advanced Search of the Library Catalog.
Go to Get It! and select Request.

The book will be checked-out, and you will be notified by email when it is available for use.

Pick-up location is on the first floor of the Milne Library across from the Circulation Desk.  A scanner is available for public use on the first floor near the printers.

Reference books should be returned to the book drop at the Circulation Desk when finished.

At close of business, all 1-day use library materials will be cleared from the pick-up location.

After use and before reuse, library materials will be quarantined for 3 days.

Finding Books in Milne and Other Libraries Using WorldCat

Note: Select Other Library Catalogs on the library web site. Select WorldCat in the list.

WorldCat is an online database that lists materials in U.S. libraries and selected libraries throughout the world. Holdings are indicated for Milne Library and the Stevens-German Library at Hartwick College. You can search by author, title, subject, and keyword.

To find books in Milne and other libraries:

Enter your search terms (author, title, or topic) into the search box. If the library owns the item, you will see the SUNY Oneonta icon in the results list. Check the Library Catalog to determine the call number and availability.

If the library does not own the item, or the item is checked out, or missing, you can request it on ILL. Click on the title of the item to see the full record, and then click on Request via Interlibrary Loan.

To request books on interlibrary loan, you must first register at the Interlibrary Loan link on the library web site. You need to register only once,
Enter your Oneonta username and password in the dialog box. The bibliographic information for the book will appear on the form. If you are requesting a book that is owned by Milne Library, but in circulation, add this information in the Notes section. Click on Submit.
When the book arrives at Milne Library, you will be notified by e-mail. You can pick up your book across from the Circulation Desk in the library.

Note: You cannot request an electronic book from another library on interlibrary loan. The electronic book, however, might also be available in print form, which you can request.

Useful series titles for research in HIST 300:

SUNY Series: Explorations in Postcolonial Studies

Studies in Imperialism.

Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals

Each of the following databases is listed alphabetically by title on the web site under Databases. Ulrichsweb provides information on periodicals across the world and identifies those that are peer-reviewed.

History

Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) This link opens in a new window
*Covers the scholarly literature on British and Irish history.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
*Indexes bibliographic literature covering world history, excluding the U.S. and Canada.

Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals and popular magazines covering most academic subject areas with some full
text available.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for scholarly journals and popular magazines across the disciplines.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present.

British Humanities Index (in print) Ref AI 3 B7 SB

Indexes popular & scholarly periodicals from 1963 to 1995.

Humanities Source
Provides selected full text for journals in the humanities, including history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of journals in many subject areas. There is no coverage for the last 3-5
years.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of journals that span 200 years in the humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of journal articles in the social sciences and humanities.

Gender Studies

Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Aims to provide balanced coverage of gender studies topics such as family issues, marital issues, and health aspects. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text of journals, newsletters and research reports on studies of women and gender.

Finding Copies of Periodical Articles

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, the full text of the article might be available in another database. Try searching for the journal title in the Journals tab on the library web site.

Locating the article in print or microfilm, if not available in electronic form:

Note specific issues available in Milne Library. Refer to the section “For specific issues in the Periodicals Collection” in this course guide to request an issue.

Finding an Article in a Specific Journal

Use the Journals tab at the top of the library home page.
Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Past and Present, in the search box. Click on the title of the periodical.

If the title is available in a database, link to the appropriate database where you can search for the article needed. Check dates of coverage to determine if full text for the needed article is available.
If the title is available in print or microfilm, note the issues available in Milne Library and refer to the section "For specific issues in the Periodicals Collection" in this course guide to borrow the issue.

For specific issues in the Periodicals Collection 

Journals and newspapers in the library’s periodical collection are available for 1-day use in the library building.  To request a journal or newspaper for pick-up and use in the library:

Search the title using the Journals tab (make sure it says Available at Milne Library….).

Go to Get It! Choose the issue or volume wanted, select Request Item for Remote Check-out and submit the form. Use the Comment field to list a specific date if necessary.

The item will be checked out to you, and you will be notified by email when it is available for use.

Pick-up location is on the first floor of the Milne Library across from the Circulation Desk.

Journals and newspapers should be returned to the book drop at the Circulation Desk when finished.

At close of business, all 1-day use library materials will be cleared from the pick-up location.
After use and before reuse, library materials will be quarantined for 3 days.

Requesting an Article on Interlibrary Loan

If the article is not available at Milne Library in any form, request the article through the link Request through Interlibrary Loan in the record for the article in the database. If the article is not listed in a database, submit the request at the Interlibrary Loan link on the library web site. Registration at the Interlibrary Loan link is necessary before submitting your first request.

Finding Primary Sources

When searching print and online access tools, use search terms such as SOURCES,

CORRESPONDENCE, PERSONAL NARRATIVES, DIARIES, SERMONS, SPEECHES, LAW AND LEGISTLATION, and terms for other types of primary sources.

Look for primary sources referenced in secondary and tertiary sources. Use textbooks, class bibliographies, and library course guides for recommended titles of primary sources.

Documentary History of England DA 26 D55 (Circ. Coll.)
Gale World Scholars: Latin America and the Caribbean Milne Library web site (under Databases)
Guide to the Printed Materials for English Social History Ref Z 7165 G8 W7 1966 SB
JSTOR 19^th – Century British Pamphlets Milne Library Web Site (under Databases)
Milestone Documents in World History v. 1 & 2 Ref D5 M55 2009
Readings in English History DA 32 C54 (Circ. Coll.)
Source-Book of English History DA 32.5 L5 (Circ. Coll.)
The Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2013 Milne Library Web Site* (under Databases)
Voices of Victorian England: Contemporary Ref DA 550 V65 2014 Accounts of Daily Life
Victorian Popular Culture Milne Library Web Site* (under Databases)
Writings on British History Ref DA 30 W74 SB

Finding Secondary and Primary Sources by Using Bibliographies

British Autobiographies Ref Z 2027 A9 M3 1968 SB
Bibliography of Imperial, Colonial and Commonwealth History Ref DA 16 B53 2002 SB Since 1600 (See “Printed Primary Sources” under each section in Table of Contents)
Bibliography of British History 1851-1914 Ref DA 530 H35 1971 SB 1914-1989 Ref DA 566 R63 1996 SB
Bibliography of British and Irish Municipal History Ref Z 2023 M26 SB
Cumulative Bibliography of Victorian Studies Z 2019 A637 (Circ. Coll.)
Guide to Historical Literature Ref D 20 A55 1995
Guide to the Printed Materials for English Social History Ref Z 7165 G8 W7 1966 SB
Writings on British History Ref DA 30 W74 SB