Finding Scholarly Print and Electronic Books in Milne Library
To search for books in Milne Library, click on the Search tab on the library’s home page. Then select Advanced Search. Then click on Sign in and login using your SUNY Oneonta username and password. Once signed in, select Library Catalog and change Material Type from All items to Books. Enter search terms and click on SEARCH.
You can limit your search results to Available online (e-books) or Held by Library (print books).
Borrowing Library Materials
Faculty, students, and staff will use Remote Check Out to request books and other library materials to be retrieved by library staff and placed on self-serve pick up shelves.
How does borrowing work?
Find an item using the library discovery service (make sure it says Available at Milne Library….).
Go to Get It! and select Request Item for Remote Check Out.
The item will be checked out to you and you will be notified by email when it is available for pick up. Pick up location is on the first floor of the Milne Library across from the Main Circulation Desk.
Library items can be returned at any time through the book drops located at the Circulation Desk or on the exterior of the Milne Library building (to the right of the main front entrance, central to the rear entrance).
Returned items will be quarantined for at least 3 days before being checked in and back-dated to the return date.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
Anthropology Databases
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowA full-text archive of peer-reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Covers over 100 years of research.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowFull-text cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Organized into cultures and ethnic groups.
General Databases with Anthropology Scholarly Journals
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals.
- Humanities SourceIncludes both Humanities Full Text and Humanities International. Contains over 1400 full text journals with citations to over 3,500,000 articles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of about 1400 core scholarly journals across most subject areas. The objective of JSTOR is to provide all issues back to Volume 1, Issue 1. Although some current titles are included, the most recent 3-5 years are generally unavailable due to copyright restrictions.
- Project MuseFull text of over 100 scholarly journals in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to over 2200 Elsevier journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)This full-text resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Social Sciences Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Content Includes: Full-text articles from 360 journals Full-text content dating as far back as 1972. High-quality indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed.
Finding a Copy of an Article from a Database
Locating the full text of the article in electronic form
Full text articles available directly in databases are indicated by HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text. Full text articles available with the wording Linked Full Text are available in another database. Clicking on the link will connect either to the full text article or the other database.
Requesting an article on interlibrary loan
If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article using the library’s interlibrary loan system (ILLiad). Please ask a librarian for assistance or go to the ILLiad page for further information.
Finding an article in a specific journal
- Use the Journals tab on the library home page.
- Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Current Anthropology, in the search box.
- Look for the journal title in the results list.
- Online journals are available through the link, Available Online. If the journal is in print, its availability and location in the library will be indicated.
- To obtain an online copy of an article, click on the Available Online link and go to the section, Full text availability, and click on an appropriate database.
- Link to the correct issue of the periodical (note the year, issue, volume number, and page numbers of the article).