Chicago Manual of Style Under Databases on library web site
Ref Z 253 U69 (print)
A short library guide to the most commonly cited examples is available online under Citing Sources on the library web site.
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Ref LB 2369 T8 2018
Cambridge Histories Online Under Databases on library web site
Complete text of over 350 scholarly texts in the Cambridge History Series. Each title is also listed individually in the library's online catalog. Dates vary. Some titles are available in print.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Under Databases on library web site
Collection of full-text reference books covering many subject areas, including history.
Blackwell Dictionary of Historians Ref D 14 B58 1988 SB
Encyclopedia of Historians & Historical Writing Ref D 14 E53 1999
Provides overview of historical writing by
geographical area and subject and of historians work.
A Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing Ref D 13 G47 1998
Offers views of the historiography of particular countries
and topics in addition to providing background on
historians with appended lists of additional reading.
Great Historians of the Modern Age Ref D 14 G 75 1991
Guide to Historical Literature Ref D 20 A55 1995
Historiography: An Annotated Bibliography of Journal Ref D 13 H57 1987
Articles, Books and Dissertations
Includes a brief introduction to historiography
and listings of books, journal articles, conference
proceedings, and dissertations under the areas of
methodology and schools of historiography.
History and Historians: A Historiographical Introduction D 16.8 G533 2007 Circ. Coll.
Teaching Bibliographic Skills in History Z 675 H5 T4 1993 Circ. Coll.
Includes section on history of historical writing
Books on historiography in the circulating collection have call numbers beginning with D13 and
D14 on the 3rd floor of the library.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Provides citations to short entries in reference books, Under Databases on library web site
including the DNB, for historical and contemporary
Dictionary of Labour Biography Ref HD 8393 A1 B44
Dictionary of Women Worldwide Ref CT 3202 D53 2007
Encyclopedia of World Biography Ref CT 103 E56 1997
Includes short essays with references.
Great Lives from History: The 19th Century 1801-1900 Ref CT 119 G69 2007
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) Ref DA 28 O95 2004
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Supplement Ref DA 28 O95 2009
Research Guide to European Historical Biography Ref CT 759 R47 1992
Ashgate Companion to the History of Textile Ref HD 8039 C6A74 2010
Encyclopedia of European Social History Ref HN 373 E63 2001
Oxford Companion to British History Ref DA 34 O93 1997
Oxford Companion to Black British History Ref DA 125 N4094 2007
Oxford Illustrated History of the British Army Ref DA 50 O94 1994
Oxford Companion to Irish History Ref DA 912 N485 199
**Click on Advanced Search under Search Everything (Library Discovery Service)
Select Library Catalog link at the top of the search screen. This is an index to the collections of Milne Library.
Any Field will search for keywords in fields of the item record, including author, title, subject, and contents. Use drop-down menu to search for a specific field such as Author, Title, Subject. Use drop-down menu under Material Type to choose Books. Click on Search toward the bottom of the screen.
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
Keywords are words that come to mind when you think about your topic. When you search for keywords, these words are matched with those in all fields of the records for information sources. These fields are, among others, the author, title, place of publication, and description. Any record with keywords searched will automatically appear in the results list as a match.
For example, if you search for “New York,” your results will include books with New York in the title as well as books published in New York. Keyword searches are broad in nature and are often good places to start until you determine the appropriate or authoritative subject(s) for your topic.
Subjects or Subject Headings (sometimes called Descriptors) are specific terms assigned to an information source based upon the content of the item. Libraries often use the Library of Congress Subject Headings, which standardize subjects in order to deliver consistent results. By limiting a search to the Subject field, and entering the assigned Subject into the search box, you will get results that include only those records for information sources assigned that Subject. Many information sources have multiple Subjects that increase the user’s ability to find these sources.
For example, searching for the keywords “medieval women” in any field can lead to results in which the keywords appear in the title and the description on the record for information sources. On these records, however, the assigned Subject is “Women—History—Middle Ages, 500-1500.” By searching for this Subject, you get results listing all information sources for which the content is medieval women.
Using a combination of keywords and subjects can offer the advantages of both types of searching in terms of your results.
Example: historiograph* searches for historiography, historiographic(al)
Example: “industrial revolution”
**Sign in with your SUNY Oneonta username and password to get complete results and to request items from other SUNY libraries through Interlibrary Loan (Resource Sharing).
You can limit your results to those Held by Milne Library or Available Online (limiters on the left of results list).
For electronic books in Milne Library:
1. Click on the title of the book
2.. Under View Online—Full text availability, link to any database listed and then to the
full text of the book
For print books in Milne Library:
1. Note the availability status.
2. Go to Get It! and select Request Item for Remote Check Out.
3. The item will be checked out to you, and you will be notified by e-mail when it is
available for pick up. Pick-up location is in the Argo Tea lobby.
4. Library items can be returned at any time through the book drops either on the exterior
of the Milne Library building (to the right of the main front entrance) or next to the rear
entrance of the library.
5. Returned items will be quarantined for six days.
**Virtual Browse (at the bottom of selected records for print books) gives information about books on the shelf near the selected book title, which can also be useful, since like titles are classed together.
If you are having trouble finding materials on your topic in the Milne Library, or if the books you want are checked out or are missing, you can request books from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). You cannot request an electronic book from another library on interlibrary loan. The Interlibrary Loan link is located on the library web site. However, the book might also be available in print, which you can request on Interlibrary Loan. Registration on the library web site is necessary to submit requests.
For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is the Renaissance Quarterly. An example of a popular magazine is People.
All of the following databases are listed alphabetically by title on the library web site under Databases.
Selected Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History
Locating the full text of an article in electronic form:
If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, the full text of the article might be available in another database. Try searching for the journal title in the Journals tab on the library web site. Follow link(s) to listed database(s). If the article is unavailable in any database, request the article through the Interlibrary Loan link either in the database record or on the library’s web site.
Locating the full text in print or microform:
If the periodical issue is listed as available only in print or microfilm, the article will not be accessible until the library reopens.
Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:
If the article is not available at Milne Library in any form, request the article through the link Interlibrary Loan either on the library web site or in the database record for the article. Registration on the library web site is necessary to submit requests. Complete the appropriate request form and submit.
Some titles only list sources, whereas others include the text of sources.
Documentary History of England DA 26 D55
English Historical Documents DA 26 E55
Source-Book of English History DA 32.5 L5
When searching print and online access tools, use search terms such as SOURCES, CORRESPONDENCE, PERSONAL NARRATIVES, DIARIES, RECORDS AND CORRESPONDENCE, SERMONS, SPEECHES, PAPERS, LETTERS.
Look for titles of primary sources in secondary sources and in lists included in bibliographies of secondary sources. Use test, class, and library bibliographies for recommended titles or listings of primary sources.
19th Century British Pamphlets Under Databases on library web site
Internet Library of Early Journals Under Databases on library web site
The Times (London) Digital Archive, 1786-2013 Under Databases on library web site
The Times (London), 1985 – present Under Databases on library web site
Victorian Popular Culture, 1779 – 1930 Under Databases on library web site
Mary Lynn Bensen (MaryL.Bensen@oneonta.edu)
Milne Library, SUNY Oneonta