CQ Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically, the Almanac organizes, distills, and cross-indexes for permanent reference the full year in Congress and in national politics.
Search for titles in Sage Knowledge. Comprehensive coverage of Congressional action from 1945 to 2008. Includes tables, charts, and graphs.
Search for title in Sage Knowledge. Comprehensive coverage of every major aspect of federal and gubernatorial elections throughout U.S. history. Narratives describe the evolution of U.S. elections, the development of the party system, and campaign finance.
The CQ Press Guide to U.S. Elections, Seventh Edition is a comprehensive, two-volume reference providing information on the U.S. electoral process, in-depth analysis on specific political eras and issues, and everything in between.
To search for books in Milne Library, click on the Search tab on the library’s home page. Then select Advanced Search. Then click on Sign in and login using your SUNY Oneonta username and password. Once signed in, select Library Catalog and change Material Type from All items to Books. Enter search terms and click on SEARCH.
You can limit your search results to Available online (e-books) or Held by Library (print books). Library staff will retrieve physical books from the collection for students.
Political Science Databases
General Databases with Political Science Scholarly Journal Articles
Locating the full text of the article in electronic form
Full text articles available directly in databases are indicated by HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text. Full text articles available with the wording Linked Full Text are available in another database. Clicking on the link will connect either to the full text article or the other database.
Requesting an article on interlibrary loan
If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article using the library’s interlibrary loan service. See a librarian for help.
Go to the library’s web page. Enter the following in the search box under SEARCH EVERYTHING: the title of the book (place the title in quotation marks), the search term “review,” and connect the title and “review” with the Boolean operator “and.”
For example: “Congressional Primary Elections” and review
Go to the left-hand side of the screen and limit search to peer-reviewed Journals. Then click on APPLY FILTERS.
Milne Library’s guide to spotting fake news, evaluating resources, and fact-checking.
Georgetown University Library’s guide to evaluating Internet resources.
Video on evaluating Internet sources using the CRAAP test: Currency, Relevance Authority, Accuracy and Purpose. From the University of Texas at El Paso.
A list of the evaluation criteria of the CRAAP test. From Meriam Library, California State University, Chico.
Revised September 1, 2020