Skip to main content

MATH 301: Introduction to the History of Mathematics (Knudsen): Course Guide

Librarian: Michelle Hendley

Finding Reference Books

Encyclopedias, almanacs, and handbooks provide quick, reliable information about a topic. They are excellent starting points for research when you need to find background information, important concepts, names, and dates. These sources often include lists of books and articles for further reading. Examples of titles that may be relevant to this course include:

The African American National Biography REF E 185.96 .A4466
African Americans in Science REF Q 141 C2138 2008
American Women in Science: 1950 to the Present REF Q 141.B254 1988
Blacks in Science and Medicine REF Q 141 B58 1990
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics

REF QA 5 W45 1999

Dictionary of the History of Science REF Q 125 D45
Dictionary of Scientific Biography REF Q 141 .D5

Encyclopedia of the History of Science,                                

  Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures*                

 

REF Q 124.8 E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society* REF QA 10.7 E53 2012
Encyclopedia of Ancient Natural Scientists REF Q 124.95 E53 2008
Great Lives from History: African Americans

REF E 185.96 G736 2011

Historical Encyclopedia of Natural and Mathematical Sciences*  

Interviews with the Abel Prize Laureates 2003–2016*

 

Ladies in the Laboratory II: West European Women

    in Science, 1800-1900

 

REF Q 141.C693 2004

Ladies in the Laboratory III: South African, Australian,                                  

  New Zealand and Canadian Women in Science: 19th and

 Early 20th centuries

 

 

REF Q141 C6933 2010

 

Ladies in the laboratory?: American

  and British women in science, 1800-1900 

 

REF Q141 C6933 2010

Ladies in the laboratory IV: Imperial Russia’s

women in science, 1800-1900 

 

REF Q141 C6934 2015

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology REF Q 121 M3 2007
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography REF Q 141 N45 2008
Notable Mathematicians

REF QA 28 N66 1998

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography REF DA 28 O95
Philosophy of Science    : An Encyclopedia REF Q 174.7 P55 2006

Princeton Companion to Mathematics 

Science and its Times:                                                                  

 Understanding the Social Significance of Scientific Discovery

The Universal Book of Mathematics

REF QA 11.2 P745 2008

 

REF Q175.46 S35 2000

REF QA 5 D27 2004

*These titles are available in online format. Search the title in the Library Catalog for access.

Searching for Online Reference Entries

  1. From the library’s web page, click on the Advanced Search tab
  2. Click on Sign in
  3. Enter your search terms
  4. Click on SEARCH
  5. Scroll down to the area on the screen that says Refine your results (on the left hand side of the screen)
  6. Click on resource type
  7. Limit your search to reference entries by clicking on the box next to these terms
  8. Review your results

Reference Collections

Books in our Reference Collection are available for 1-day use in the library building.  After use and before reuse, reference books will be quarantined for 3 days.  To request a reference book for pick-up and use in the library:

  1. Find a reference item using the library discovery service (make sure it says Available at Milne Library….).
  2. Go to Get It! and select Request.
  3. The item will be checked-out and you will be notified by email when it is available for use.
  4. Pick up location is on the first floor of the Milne Library across from the Main Circulation Desk.
  5. Reference books should be returned to the book drop at the Circulation Desk when finished.
  6. At close of business, all 1-day use library materials will be cleared from pickup location.
  7. After use and before reuse, library materials will be quarantined for 3 days.

Selected Subject Headings (for use in the Library Catalog and WorldCat)

African American Mathematicians

Mathematics early works to 1800

Algebra

Mathematics East Asia

Aristotle

Mathematics Egyptian           

Calculus

Mathematics Europe Western

Euclid

Mathematics Greek

Geometry

Mathematics history

Logic symbolic and mathematical

Mathematics history sources

Mathematics Ancient

Mathematics India

Mathematics Arab

Minorities in mathematics

Mathematics Babylonian

Pythagorean Theorem

Mathematics Chinese

Trigonometry

Mathematics German

Women in mathematics

Finding Scholarly Print and Electronic Books in Milne Library and other SUNY Libraries

Library Catalog

Find print books, print journals, most e-books and e-journals are not included.

To search for books in Milne Library, click on the Search tab on the library’s home page. Then select Advanced Search. Then click on Sign in and login using your SUNY Oneonta username and password.  Once signed in, select Library Catalog and change Material Type from All items to Books. Enter search terms and click on SEARCH.

You can limit your search results to Available online (e-books) or Held by Library (print books).  Library staff will retrieve physical books from the collection for students.

How does borrowing work?

  1. Find an item using the library discovery service (make sure it says Available at Milne Library….)
  2. Go to Get It! and select Request Item for Remote Check-Out.
  3. The item will be checked-out to you and you will be notified by email when it is available for pick up. Pick up location is on the first floor of the Milne Library across from the Main Circulation Desk.
  4. Library items can be returned at any time through the book drops located at the Circulation Desk or on the exterior of the Milne Library building (to the right of the main front entrance, central to the rear entrance).
  5. Returned items will be quarantined for 3 days. See the REALM Report for more details on minimizing the spread of COVID-19 through control and quarantine of library resources https://www.webjunction.org/content/dam/WebJunction/Documents/webJunction/realm/test1-report.pdf.

Finding Scholarly Print Books at other SUNY Libraries

To locate books at other SUNY libraries, select SUNY Catalog and click on SEARCHBooks that are in other SUNY libraries will be indicated by Check for available services >.  To request the book, click on Check for available services > then click on Resource Sharing. Scroll down to the link, SEND REQUEST. Click on the link.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Mathematics Databases

History Databases

General Databases with Mathematics and History Scholarly Articles

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article from a Database

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form

Full text articles available directly in databases are indicated by HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text.  Full text articles available with the wording such as Linked Full Text are available in another database.  Clicking on the link will connect either to the full text article or the other database.

Requesting an article on interlibrary loan

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article using the library’s interlibrary loan service.  See a librarian for help. 

 Finding an article in a specific journal

  • Use the Journals tab on the library home page. 
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Critical Sociology, in the search box. 
  • Look for the journal title in the results list.
  • Online journals are available online through the link, Available Online.  If the journal is in print, its availability and location in the library will be indicated.  An example of a journal that is available both online and in print is below:

JOURNAL

Current history (New York, N.Y. : 1941)

1941-

                                     Available at Milne Library Periodicals Collection, Reading Room, 1st floor (D410

                              .C82) and other locations

                        Available Online 

  • To obtain an online copy of an article, click on the Available Online link and go to the section, Full text availability, and click on an appropriate database.
  • Link to the correct issue of the periodical (note the year, issue, volume number, and pages numbers of the article).

Print journals and newspapers in our Periodicals Collection are available for 1-day use in the library building.

Citing Sources

MLA Handbook, 8th edition    REF LB 2369 G53 2016

The print style guide is more comprehensive than the web site and will have many more examples. Use the index to find examples. The print copy is available in Milne Library's Reference Collection.   Online guides and tutorials are available on the library’s web site at

http://lgapi-us.libapps.com/widget_c.php?g=300602&p=2006636

 

michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu

Revised: August 14, 2020