Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOCL 390: Senior Seminar in Sociology (Lowe): Course Guide

Librarian: Michelle Hendley

Reference Sources

Conspiracies and Secret Societies (2006)

An online encyclopedia on conspiracy theories.  Lists of books, articles and websites are included at the end of each encyclopedia article.  May be a useful source for locating references to primary source documents and non-scholarly material.  The full text of the encyclopedia is available in EBSCOhost Points of View Reference Center.

Research Starters: Sociology

Comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts.

Finding Scholarly Print and Electronic Books in Milne Library

Library Catalog

Find e-books.

To search for e-books in Milne Library, click on the Search tab on the library’s home page. Then select Advanced Search. Then click on Sign in and login using your SUNY Oneonta username and password.  Once signed in, select Library Catalog and change Material Type from All items to Books. Enter search terms and click on SEARCH.

Limit your search results to Available online (e-books).

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Sociology Databases

General Databases with Sociology Sources

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article from a Database

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form

Full text articles available directly in databases are indicated by HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text.  Full text articles available with the wording such as Linked Full Text are available in another database.  Clicking on the link will connect either to the full text article or the other database.

Requesting an article on interlibrary loan

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article using the library’s interlibrary loan service.  Ask a librarian for help. 

 Finding an article in a specific journal

  • Use the Journals tab on the library home page. 
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Critical Sociology, in the search box. 
  • Look for the journal title in the results list.
  • Online journals are available online through the link, Available Online

  • To obtain an online copy of an article, click on the Available Online link and go to the section, Full text availability, and click on an appropriate database.
  • Link to the correct issue of the periodical (note the year, issue, volume number, and pages numbers of the article).

Finding Primary Source Documents

Legal Databases

Government Documents Websites

Congress.gov

Search for bills, their status, and legislation from current House and Senate activity back to the 103rd Congress.

govinfo

Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Science.gov

"A gateway to 47 million pages of government science information."

USA.gov

“Our mission is to create and organize timely, needed government information and services and make them accessible anytime, anywhere, via your channel of choice.”

Newspaper and Magazine Databases

Nation Archive Premium Edition

Full text/full image version of The Nation, "a dissenting, independent, trouble-making, idea launching journal of critical opinion". Coverage is from 1865 to the present.

Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)

Offers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.

Newspaper Source Plus

Includes over 850 full-text U.S. and international newspapers as well as over 800,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Finding Polling/Survey Data

Gallup Poll Briefing

Periodical that provides Gallup Poll News Service data and analysis.  The periodical is located in the database Business Source Complete.

Polling the Nations

Polling the Nations is a critically acclaimed online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of more than 700,000 questions and responses from more than 18,000 surveys and 1,700 polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

Polling Data Specific to Conspiracy Theories

The Economist/YouGov Poll (December 17 - 20, 2016 - 1376 US Adults)

Questions 46-54 relate to conspiracy theories

Public Policy Polling: Conspiracies (April 2013)

PPP’s conspiracy-theory questions find that Republicans are more likely than Democrats to believe various government-related conspiracy theories.

Public Policy Polling: Conspiracies (Oct 2013)

Additional polling questions regarding conspiracy theory belief in the U.S.

Emerson Polling (August 2019)

Report on 2019 poll which covers select current conspiracies (Epstein, QANON) with links to full poll results.

Selected Internet Sites

Oyez (https://www.oyez.org/)

Oyez (pronounced OH-yay)—a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law—is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions (through Justia). Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history and offers a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of several justices.

Rand Corporation (https://www.rand.org/)

Southern Poverty Law Center (https://www.splcenter.org/)

Locating primary sources/non-scholarly material using an Internet search engine

To begin a search for non-scholarly information on your topic using Google, Bing or another Internet search engine, use terms such as the words describing the conspiracy theory (e.g. vaccines cause autism, 9/11 cover-up, alien abduction) individual(s) and/or organization(s) who proliferate the conspiracy (e.g. Jenny McCarthy, Andrew Wakefield, Dylan Avery).

 

michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu

Revised: September 15, 2020