It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AOP Summer Academy: Home
Library resources for students participating in the AOP Summer Academy at SUNY Oneonta
Conducting research can be difficult when you are unfamiliar with the terms being used to describe certain types of items. Refer to the files below. The Definitions handout and Scholarly vs Popular chart will be particularly useful to keep and use in future classes.
It is important to include appropriate citation in your paper. The library has a guide that can help you accurately cite your resources. You can locate it on the library homepage by clicking the "Citing Sources" link, or you can click on the link below.
Boolean operators are words or symbols that are used in conjunction with words to refine searches.
AND - narrows
Ex: ADHD and boys (this narrows down our results to only include ADHD and boys)
NOT - excludes
Ex: ADHD not boys (this narrows down our results to include things about ADHD excluding those that mention boys)
OR - expands
Ex: boys or males or guy (this expands our our search to search for multiple possible terms)
When you begin a research project, it is a good idea to take a moment to reflect on your prior knowledge of the topic area. How much do you already know about this topic? In most cases, you will need to do a bit of research to get some general information on your topic. Encyclopedias are arranged alphabetically and contain a general overview of a term or subject matter. Opposing Viewpoints in Context can also help you find encyclopedic information on a variety of topics.
Contains about 2000 viewpoint articles, 1000 topic overviews, 700 court case overviews, and 30 full text periodicals and newspapers. The Research Guide provides tips on analyzing issues with opposing viewpoints, distinguishing fact from opinion, evaluating information sources, and recognizing deceptive arguments.
FINDING BOOKS IN MILNE LIBRARY
To look for books in the Milne Library catalog, navigate to the library homepage and click on 'Advanced Search.' If you wish to only find online books, leave the search scope selected to 'Online Access' and change the 'Material Type' to 'Books'. Then enter your search terms. If you desire print volumes, change the search scope to 'Library Catalog', limit to 'Books', enter your search terms and click 'Search'. Once in the results list, click 'Held by Library' to limit to print volumes only.
FINDING SCHOLARLY ARTICLES
Find scholarly articles by using a database that contains such materials (check off 'peer-reviewed' in the search); you can find one of the databases students use the most below. These can also be found from the 'Databases' link on the Library's homepage by title and subject.
For best results, use a database's Advanced Search option.
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
FINDING OTHER SOURCES
You can find news sources by searching Nexis Uni and Allsides.com. If you are looking for videos on a topic, try Films on Demand.
Contains about 8000 full-length programs and 90,000 streaming video segments in the humanities, social sciences, business, economics, medicine, mathematics, and sciences from producers including Cambridge Educational, BBC, CNBC, National Geographic, TEDTalks, and PBS. For additional videos, see VAST (Academic Videos Online). Can be used for course content: Streaming video collections.