Skip to main content

SPAN 316: SPANISH PHONETICS & PHONOLOGY: Home

Professor Escudero Selected Sources for Research, Milne Library, SUNY College at Oneonta, Fall 2014

Selected Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education                      REF LC 3707.E53

Encyclopedia of Language and Education [electronic resource]

(available through the Classic Catalog)

The World’s Major Languages                                                           REF P 371 W6 2009

The Linguistics Encyclopedia                                                            REF P 29 L52 2004

Oxford Spanish Dictionary                                                                 REF PC 4640 O94 2008

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics                                           REF P 29 I58 2003

Selected Country Resources

Print Reference Sources

 

Latin America             REF F1408 .D25

Western Europe           REF D1050 .W378

 

Electronic Resources

 

Europa World: The Europa World Year Book Online (accessible via EDS and the online catalog)

Provides political, economic, and statistical information for over 250 countries and territories. Includes maps and country profiles.

The Statesman’s Yearbook Online (accessible via EDS and the online catalog)

Covers key historical events, population, city profiles, social statistics, climate, recent elections, current leaders, defence, international relations, economy, energy and natural resources, industry, international trade, religion, culture, and diplomatic representatives, as well as fact sheets for countries world wide.

 

Political Handbook of the World Online Edition (accessible via the Databases tab).

Subject Headings (for use in the Classic Catalog or Search Everything)

Combine your country or region with such terms as:

Spanish language                                Lingística                                Gramática

Spanish language variation                 Lingística diacrónica               Provincialism

Spanish language history                    Lingística aplicada                  Pronunciation

Spanish language dialectology            Fonética                                  Phonology

Dialects                                               Sociolingística

                                    

Finding Books

Classic Catalog

You may search for books in the Milne Library using the Classic Catalog

“Search Everything” (EDS)

Searches across the library's catalog and many of its databases in a single search. This is the default search box (Search Everything) on the library home page. Because the results are so broad, learn to refine your results by using the toggle boxes on the left of the results screen.
To narrow a search to books only, scroll down to Location and check the appropriate boxes. 

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch Legacy Interface--requires signon from off-campus) WorldCat is an online database listing materials in U.S. libraries and selected libraries throughout the world. Holdings are indicated for Milne Library, and the Stevens-German Library at Hartwick College. To get the call number and availability status for the book in Milne Library, click on Search the Catalog at your Library. You can search by author, title, subject, and keyword. If Milne Library does not own an item, you can request items to be borrowed from other libraries by following the Request via Interlibrary Loan link provided on the record for an item in WorldCat. Locate WorldCat (First Search) in the alphabetical list under the Databases tab on the library website.

Finding Periodical Articles

All of the following databases are listed on the library website under the Databases tab. 

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

·         Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on or Find It! If a full text of the article is available in another database, there will be a link that connects to that database, where the article can be found.  If the article is not readily available, enter the article title in the search box.

·         Locating the article in print or microfilm, if not available in electronic form:

Link to Milne Library Print or Microfilm Copy, and then click on Is it here? Note available issues and location. Print periodicals are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room.

·         Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library in any form, you can request the article through the link Request through Interlibrary Loan. You need to be registered to submit requests. You can also request articles through the Interlibrary Loan link on the library web site under the Student/Faculty Services tab. 

Finding an Article in a Particular Periodical Title

  • Use the Journals tab on the top of the library home page.
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Journal of Organizational Culture, Communications and Conflict, in the search box and click on Exact Match.
  • Look for the journal title in the results list and follow the link to the database(s) listed.
  • Link to the correct issue of the periodical OR enter the title of the article in the search box.
  • If an electronic text is available, click on the link provided.  If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, click on the specific library holdings and locate the title in the library.  

Film and Image Databases

World Wide Web Sources 

The Sounds of Spanish (Ohio State University)

http://dialectos.osu.edu/default.cfm

Database Sources 

Citing Your Sources

The Citing Sources link on the main Library page covers many styles including MLA (Modern Language Association).

 

  michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu
Last revised September 29, 2014