Skip to main content

SOCL/WMST 235: Theories in Family Studies: Home

Dr. Elizabeth Seale Milne Library, SUNY College at Oneonta, Fall 2014 Librarian: Michelle Hendley

Reference Sources

Finding Scholarly Articles

Sociology and Family Studies Resources

 

Sage Family Studies Abstracts v.1(1979)-v.29(2007)          REF HQ 535 S343

Includes abstracts to scholarly articles on a range of topics including Courtship and Marriage, Family Economics, Family Relations, and Separation and Divorce.  Note: this is a print index located in the reference area.

 

 

Finding Scholarly Articles

Criminal Justice Resources

Finding Scholarly Articles

Gender Studies Resources

 

Women Studies Abstracts    v.1 (1972) v. 42 (2014)           REF HQ1101 .W6

Includes abstracts to scholarly articles on a range of topics including Family, Family Planning and Interpersonal Relations.  Note: this is a print resource located in the reference room. 

 

 

Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no PDF or HTML full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on Linked Full Text or Full Text through LinkSource. If the full text of the article is available in another database, there will usually be a link to that database where the article can be found by linking to the appropriate volume and issue number, or by searching for the article by its specific title. In some databases, the article will appear without additional searching.

 

If the article is not available, return to the home page of the library and click on Journals. Enter the journal title in the search box, and click on Exact Match. You can then determine if an online or print copy of the article is available. Oneonta Local links to information about locally held items. On the record for the journal title, click Is it here? The record will list the years and volumes of the journal held in Milne Library. The record will also indicate whether the issue is in print or microfilm.

 

Print periodicals are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room, (SB floor), two floors beneath the main floor of the library.

 

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed or through the link on the bottom of the homepage of the library website. See a librarian for help. 

Citing Sources

http://libguides.oneonta.edu/citing

Links to resources that provide examples of how to write citations, create a works cited list, and format written documents in various styles for several academic disciplines. Includes the style guide of the American Psychological Association (APA) (call number REF BF 76.7 .P83 2010) and the American Sociological Association (ASA) (call number: REF HM 571 A54 2007).

 

 

Email: michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu
September 2014