Skip to main content

PSYC 221: Research Methods in Psychology I: Home

Dr. Julia Blau Milne Library, SUNY College at Oneonta, Fall 2014 Librarian: Michelle Hendley

Psychology Databases

Getting Help in PsycINFO

Click on the   icon next to first Find field (next to the    icon).  This will take you to another screen. Scroll to the bottom of the screen.  In the lower left hand side of this screen, under the heading Database Help, there is a link entitled, PsycINFO.  Click on this link. Detailed information on the database is available here.  

Thesaurus Authority File

“The Thesaurus Authority File contains the subject headings from the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. This controlled vocabulary, also known as index terms or descriptors, is used by APA indexers to describe the content of a document. Subjects are indexed for every record using major and minor descriptors which describe the primary and secondary focus of the document. Subject headings which describe the major focus of a document are preceded by an asterisk (*) in the PsycINFO record.”

Examples:

The subject heading Human Females is used to describe documents that focus on women. The subject heading Gifted is used to describe documents that focus on exceptional children.

Source:  PsycINFO Database Information Screen

Database Guides

PscyINFO Quick Reference Guide

http://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/training/ebsco.pdf

 

Getting Started with PsycTESTS on APA PsycNET

http://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/training/psyctests-on-psycnet.pdf

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

 

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no PDF or HTML full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on Linked Full Text or Full Text through LinkSource. If the full text of the article is available in another database, there will usually be a link to that database where the article can be found by linking to the appropriate volume and issue number, or by searching for the article by its specific title. In some databases, the article will appear without additional searching.

 

If the article is not available, return to the home page of the library and click on Journals. Enter the journal title in the search box, and click on Exact Match. You can then determine if an online or print copy of the article is available. Oneonta Local links to information about locally held items. On the record for the journal title, click Is it here? The record will list the years and volumes of the journal held in Milne Library. The record will also indicate whether the issue is in print or microfilm.

 

Print periodicals are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room, (SB floor), two floors beneath the main floor of the library.

 

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed or through the link on the bottom of the homepage of the library website. See a librarian for help. 

Citing Sources

Citing Sources

http://libguides.oneonta.edu/citing

Links to resources that provide examples of how to write citations, create a works cited list, and format written documents in various styles for several academic disciplines. Includes the style guide of the American Psychological Association (APA) (Call number: REF BF 76.7 P83 2010).

 

 michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu

Milne Library, SUNY College at Oneonta

Revised: September 2014