Skip to main content

MATH 301: Introduction to the History of Mathematics: Home

Dr. Martha Kilpack Milne Library, SUNY College at Oneonta, Spring 2015 Librarian: Michelle Hendley

Finding Reference Books

Encyclopedias, almanacs, and handbooks provide quick, reliable information about a topic. They are excellent starting points for research when you need to find background information, important concepts, names and dates. These sources often include lists of books and articles for further reading. Examples of titles that may be relevant to this course include:

 

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics                                          REF QA 5 W45 1999

Dictionary of the History of Science                                                          REF Q 125 D45

Dictionary of Scientific Biography                                                             REF Q141 .D5

Encyclopedia of the History of Science,                     

  Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures                         REF Q 124.8 E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society                                                  REF QA 10.7 E53 2012

Encyclopedia of Science & Technology                                                   REF Q 121 M3 2007

New Dictionary of Scientific Biography                                                     REF Q 141 N45 2008

Notable Mathematicians                                                                              REF QA 28 N66 1998

Princeton Companion to Mathematics                                                      REF QA 11.2 P745 2008

Science and its Times:                                                            

 Understanding the Social Significance of Scientific Discovery          REF Q175.46 S35 2000

The Universal Book of Mathematics                                                         REF QA 5 D27 2004

 

Historical Encyclopedia of Natural and Mathematical Sciences

Available online through the Classic Catalog, “Search Everything” or at http://link.springer.com/referencework/10.1007%2F978-3-540-68832-7

Finding Books

Finding Scholarly Journals

Contact Information

michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu

February 3, 2015