Skip to main content

Comp 100 Griswold (Spring 2020): Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the guide for your library class for COMP 100! Please follow the directions in this guide and complete the activities! I am always available for help with your research, and can be reached a multitude of ways. For initial contact, please reach out by e-mail: Sarah.rhodes@oneonta.edu 

On this guide you will see boxes labeled step 1, step 2, etc. on the left hand side. Please follow those steps as you see them laid out for class today. On the right hand side, below my picture, you will find helpful tips when you are conducting your own research for your paper. 

Located below you will find an assignment sheet that you will need to complete. You will be filling it out as you continue through the class, so I suggest pulling it up now. 

Step 1

Please view the video "COMP 100 Library Introduction - Griswold". 

Step 2

Conducting research can be difficult when you are unfamiliar with the terms being used to describe certain types of items. If your instructor asks you to use a periodical, would you know what they meant? If you had to locate the call number in an item’s record, could you? It is important to familiarize yourself with what particular library words mean. 

Refer to the handout below called "Definitions Sheet". Please review the sheet and make note of the words that are unfamiliar to you. We will be reviewing many of them through the videos today. 

Please complete "Step 2 Question" on the assignment sheet. 

Step 3

When you begin a research project, it is a good idea to take a moment to reflect on your prior knowledge of the topic area. How much do you already know about this topic? How confident are you in moving forward with this topic? In most cases, you will need to do a bit of research to get some general information on your topic. 

A great way to gather background information is through searching reference materials. Reference materials such as Encyclopedias and Dictionaries are arranged alphabetically and contain a general overview of a term or subject matter. The library has access to encyclopedias and dictionaries in print and online through particular databases. Some great general subject matter reference databases can be found by clicking on the Databases tab, then the "Browse by Discipline" link. You should then see a link for Reference. You can also click on a heading that relates specifically to your topic. There are subject specific reference databases that can also be helpful in your searching.

Please view the video "Online Reference Materials".

Step 4

Conduct your own search in the Gale Virtual Reference Database. Find the Social Justice article mentioned in the video and read it. Make note of the key words or phrases that you think are important to know. For example, I would make note of the words "inequality" and "equality" if I were reading this article. 

Please complete "Step 4 Question" on the assignment sheet. 

Step 5

Once you have a better understanding of your topic, you can begin to look for materials to help you with your research paper. In this step we will be exploring how to find a book in the library catalog. Please view the video "How to Find a Book in the Library Catalog". 

Please complete "Step 5 Question" on the assignment sheet.

Step 6

In the following steps we will be learning how to find articles through Milne Library's online resources. Before we begin to find an article, we need to better understand the different types. Your professors may use the term "periodicals" when reference articles and journals. This term is located on your Definitions sheet and will be an important one to remember. 

View the file located below titled "Types of Periodicals". 

Step 7

In the following three steps, you will be viewing three different videos that explain three different ways to find articles through Milne Library's online resources. These three videos do not represent an exhaustive list of resources for you to use, but they provide a good place to start. Located on the right hand side of this guide will be a box that contains a list of other database that may prove useful to use when conducting research for your assignment. 

For this step, please view the video "Finding an Article - Search Everything". 

Please complete "Step 7 Question" on the assignment sheet. 

Step 8

For this step, please view the video "Finding an Article - Academic Search Complete". 

Please complete "Step 8 Question" on the assignment sheet. 

Step 9

For this step, please view the video "Finding an Article - Academic One File". 

Please complete "Step 9 Question" on the assignment sheet. 

Step 10

Please view the video COMP 100 Library Conclusion - Griswold

Pick A Topic

If you are stuck trying to decide on a topic for your paper, there are a few ways to generate ideas. 

  1. Scan newspaper headlines 
  2. Browse chapter titles in your textbook
  3. Check out what's trending 
  4. Use a Topic Idea Generator
  5. Use the "Browse Issues" section in the Opposing Viewpoints Database

Locating Print Sources at Milne Library

Search & Discover provides sweeping access to books, ebooks, articles, movies, music, and more through a user-driven platform supporting your research interests. You can use Search & Discover without signing in. However, to access e-books, you will need to sign in when prompted.

There are two main ways to use Search & Discover.

Everything allows you to search simultaneously for books, ebooks, articles, movies, music, and more. You may use keywords, titles, authors, or phrases. Refine your results using the choices on the left. For example, if you want to discover the newest results then select Sort by. Explore Resource Type, also on the left, to get a sense of the various materials available to you.

Library Catalog is commonly used to search the physical collections of the James M. Milne Library, including ebooks, by an author’s name or a book’s title. You may also use keywords to search the library catalog, which contains the table of contents for many records. Subject headings are included in keyword searching and are assigned to all library catalog holdings.

While Everything and Library Catalog are two of the main searching functions in Search & Discover, there are others available for use. Child Collection, Course Reserves, EMC Media, NY State Collection, Reference, Special Collections (SCC), SUNY Catalog, and Young Adult (YA) are all options to choose from. These collections can be searched exclusively by selecting them in the top menu. For example, selecting Child Collection will include results only from that collection. 

Helpful Databases