Skip to main content

COMP 100: Composition: Home

Mr. McDermott Selected Sources for Research, Milne Library, SUNY College at Oneonta, Fall 2014 Librarian: Michelle Hendley (michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu)

Finding Books

Classic Catalog

This searches the contents of Milne Library's online catalog, which is an index to the contents of the physical library along with a large electronic book collection. Use this if you need to find a book that you can use immediately. It cannot be used to find individual journal articles. Note the call number for the item and consult Library Floor Plans information guide to determine the location. 

“Search Everything” (EDS)

Searches across the library's catalog and many of its databases in a single search. This is the default search box (Search Everything) on the library home page. Because the results are so broad, learn to refine your results by using the toggle boxes on the left of the results screen.
To narrow a search to print books only, scroll down to Location and check the appropriate boxes. 

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch Legacy Interface--requires signon from off-campus)

Comprehensive database of books, journals, and media owned by libraries world-wide. Requires signon from off-campus.

Finding Periodical Articles

The following databases are excellent sources for periodicals.  A periodical is a publication that appears on a regular basis. Newspapers, magazines, and academic journals are examples of periodicals.  

Using Search Everything (EBSCO Discover Service/EDS)

The EBSCO Discovery Service points researchers to appropriate databases and is not a substitute for searching these databases. EDS does not search the database but “scratches the surface” of selected library databases to produce a single list of results, including print books, electronic books, scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, research reports, documentary films, and much more. 

NOTE: Because results include Open Source titles, not all materials are appropriate for college research assignments. 

Click on the Advanced Search, and enter terms in the search box. You can limit search results by unclicking boxes next to “apply related words” and “also search within the full text of the articles.” 

Refining or Narrowing the Results:

The results from a search can be very large. Use the limiters on the left side of the page to refine and narrow your results. The most useful limiters are listed below: 

Subject:

Click on Subject and then Show More to see a list of all subjects. You can select multiple subjects. Subjects at the top represent the largest number of results. Subjects at the bottom will give the fewest results. The list can be alphabetized by clicking on Name. Update results. 

Location:

Use to limit results to print or electronic items owned by Milne Library, among other types of sources. Click on desired format(s). Update results. 

Source:

Click on Sources and then on Show More for a selected list of databases in which results were found. Select the most appropriate databases. Update results. 

Use Databases tab on the library web site to link to alphabetical list of individual databases. Click on database name(s) and enter words in the search box(es). Searching the individual databases improves search results because more refined searching can be done with appropriate subject terms. 

Date:

Use to limit results to particular dates.

Finding Copies of Periodical Articles

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on or Find It! If a full text of the article is available in another database, there will be a link that connects to that database, where the article can be found.  If the article is not readily available, enter the article title in the search box.

 

Locating the article in print or microfilm, if not available in electronic form:

Link to Milne Library Print or Microfilm Copy, and then click on Is it here? Note available issues and location. Print periodicals are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room.

 

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library in any form, you can request the article through the link Request through Interlibrary Loan. You need to be registered to submit requests. You can also request articles through the Interlibrary Loan link on the library web site under the Student/Faculty Services tab.

Finding an Article in a Particular Periodical Title

·         Use the Journals tab on the top of the library home page.

·         Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Journal of Organizational Culture, Communications and Conflict, in the search box and click on Exact Match.

·         Look for the journal title in the results list and follow the link to the database(s) listed.

·         Link to the correct issue of the periodical OR enter the title of the article in the search box.

·         If an electronic text is available, click on the link provided.  If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, click on the specific library holdings and locate the title in the library. 

 

 

October 14, 2014