Finding Books in Milne Library
Use the library catalog search box on the library home page. This is an index to the physical contents of Milne Library and to items available online. Enter keywords in the search box. Truncate or shorten terms using the *, if you are uncertain of the spelling, or if searching for variations of a word, such as myth(s), mythology(ies), mythical. Press Enter.
For example: Gree* myth* for Greek/Greece myth(s), mythology(ies) hatshepsut and biography
In any list of results, the number of copies owned by the library will be followed by the number of items in circulation. (1 owned / 0 out). The Is it here? link to the far right provides more detail about the status of the item and includes location. This link must be checked to determine if an electronic book is checked out. For available books, follow the link to Electronic Book or Online Item.
For more information about any item, click on the title in the results list. To limit the list to those items more specifically about your topic, click on the headings after subject at the bottom of the record for the item. The resulting list should have fewer, but more relevant, items.
If you do not find the item on the shelf, ask at the Circulation Desk to see if the book has been checked in and is waiting to be shelved. If still not available, complete a “Search” card for the item. A staff member will look for the item and notify you of the results. Items in circulation can be requested on interlibrary loan from another library.
Finding Books in Other Libraries
WorldCat is an online database listing materials in U.S. libraries and selected libraries throughout the world. Holdings are indicated for Milne Library, and the Stevens-German Library at Hartwick College. You can search by author, title, subject, and keyword. If Milne Library does not own an item, you can request items by following the Request via Interlibrary Loan link provided on the record for an item in WorldCat. Locate WorldCat in the alphabetical list of databases.
You can also check out items at Hartwick College with your SUNY Oneonta ID card.
Finding Background Information
Use Reference Universe to find information indexed in print and electronic reference sources. A computer with scanner is available in the reference area for copying information. Assistance is available at the Research Help Desk.
|
The Age of Wars of Religion (2 vols.) |
Ref D 114 N66 2006 |
|
Atlas of Ancient and Classical Geography |
Ref G 1033 A8 1952 |
|
Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization |
Ref DE 5 C28 2006 |
|
Chronology of World History v. 1 Prehistory - AD 1491 |
Ref D 11 M39 1999 |
|
Complete Atlas of World History (3 vols.) |
Ref G 1030 C66 1997 |
|
Dictionary of Battles & Sieges |
Ref D 25 J33 2007 |
|
Encyclopaedia of the History of science, technology and medicine in non-western cultures |
Q 124.8 E53 2003 (also an ebook) |
|
Encyclopedia of African History |
Ref DT 20 E53 2005 |
|
Encyclopedia of Religion (15 vols.) |
Ref BL 31 E46 2005 |
|
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World |
Ref HQ 1127 S25 2001 |
|
Oxford Companion to Military History |
Ref D 25 A2 O94 2003 |
|
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt (3 vols.) |
Ref DT 58 O94 2001 |
|
Science and its Times |
Ref Q 175.46 2000 |
|
World Eras (series title) |
|
|
Ancient Egypt |
Ref DT 61 A55 2002 |
- Cambridge Histories OnlineProvides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
- Daily LifeLife in the Ancient World, 10,000 BCE – 500 CE
The Fertile Crescent
Ancient Egypt - Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Reference UniverseIndexes thousands of print and electronic reference books in the Milne Library.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of PhilosophyGood for background information. Provides up-to-date articles on philosophical themes (such as metaphysics, ethics, law); world philosophies (such as African, Japanese, Tibetan); periods; world religions (such as Islam, Christianity, Buddhism).
- World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras
Finding Periodical Articles: General Databases that include History
All of the following databases are listed on the library website in the alphabetical list under Databases.
- Academic OneFileIndexes about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas from 1980 to the present. Over 38,000,000 articles are available, with some full-text.
- Academic Search CompleteProvides full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals.
Youtube tutorial for this database - Humanities International CompleteIncludes all data from Humanities International Index (indexing to more than 2,100 journals and 2 million records) as well as access to about 1800 full-text journals.
- JSTOR archiveFull text of about 1400 core scholarly journals across most subject areas. The objective of JSTOR is to provide all issues back to Volume 1, Issue 1. Although some current titles are included, the most recent 3-5 years are generally unavailable due to copyright restrictions.

- Project Muse - Basic Undergraduate
Full text of over 100 scholarly journals in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics.- ScienceDirect
Provides full text access to over 2200 Elsevier journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology. - Project Muse - Basic Undergraduate
Finding Periodical Articles: Gender Studies, History & Religion
All of the following databases are listed on the library website in the alphabetical list under Databases.
- GenderWatchWith archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatchâ„¢ provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women.
- Annual Bulletin of Historical LiteratureIndexes books and articles on history from ancient times through the 20th century.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection - EbscoContains about 500 full-text journals covering topics such as world religions, biblical studies, and philosophy.
Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article
Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:
If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on or Find It!. If a full text of the article is available in another database, there will be a link connecting you to that database, where you can locate the article in the appropriate volume, or search for the article by title or author.
If the article is unavailable electronically, but available in print or microfilm, click on Oneonta Local Collection for exact holdings. Periodicals are located on compact shelving or in microfilm drawers on the floor P.
Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:
If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library in any form after you have linked to "Check Library Catalog", you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed (see computer screen that comes up after you click on Find It!). You need to be registered to submit ILL requests. See a librarian for help. You can also request articles through the Interlibrary Loan link on the library website.
Finding an Article from a Citation
If you have the citation for a periodical article, click on the Journals tab on the library website and enter the title of the journal or magazine. The resulting list will indicate which database(s) include the periodical. Follow the link to the database, then either follow the links to the specific issue of the periodical, or enter the article title in a search box. If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, the holdings will be indicated by linking to Oneonta Local Collection.
Research Help
Librarians are available to help you in several ways:
- Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library, located on your left after you enter the first floor through the main entrance or through Jazzman's Cafe.
- Call the Research Help Desk at Milne Library at 436-2722. If the librarian is busy, you can leave a message on voice mail.
- E-mail a question to a Milne librarian & get a response within 48 hours.
- Request a research consultation to meet individually with a librarian.
Description
Loading...
