New Reference Books

The Encyclopedia of Martin Luther and the Reformation is a comprehensive global study of the life and work of Martin Luther and the movements that followed him in history and through today. Organized by a stellar advisory board of Luther and Reformation scholars, the encyclopedia features nearly five hundred entries that examine Luther's life and impact worldwide. The two-volume set provides overviews of basics such as the 95 Theses as well as more complex topics such as reformational distinctions. Entries explore Luther's contributions to theology, sacraments, his influence on the church and contemporaries, his character, and more. The work also discusses Luther's controversies and topics such as gender, sexuality, and race. Publishing at the five hundredth anniversary of the Reformation, this is an essential reference work for understanding the Reformation and its legacy today.

Comprehensive source of information about the calendars and holidays of the world's religions. Provides concise information about the beliefs, practices, and history of more than 20 major religions. Additional features include bibliography, calendar index, holiday index, and master index.

When a large number of the people in Scotland rejected King Charles I's religious policy, they set in motion a train of events that resonated throughout England, Wales, and Ireland and challenged the rule of the king. Between 1637 and 1660 the British Isles were embroiled in a series of wars, rebellions, and revolutions that affected not only all the political and social institutions within them, but all of the people living there. Radical changes in the political relationships within the four nations sparked a series of wars that brought far-reaching political revolution. By spring 1649 the king had been executed, the monarchy abolished in England and Wales, and a republic established. The 1650s saw Scotland and Ireland incorporated into the republic as the wars finally ended. The republic had a brief life but by 1660 it was ended and the monarchy restored, the united nation established in 1653 was again broken into its component parts, and the old institutions seemingly returned to preeminence. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of the British and Irish Civil Wars 1637-1660 contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, and military technology, as well as descriptions of the battles of the war. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about this period in history.

The Atlas of Ancient Rome provides a comprehensive archaeological survey of the city of Rome from prehistory to the early medieval period. Lavishly illustrated throughout with full-color maps, drawings, photos, and 3D reconstructions, this magnificent two-volume slipcased edition features the latest discoveries and scholarship, with new descriptions of more than 500 monuments, including the Sanctuary of Vesta, the domus Augusti, and the Mausoleum of Augustus. It is destined to become the standard reference for scholars, students, and anyone interested in the history of the city of Rome. The Atlas of Ancient Rome is monumental in scope. It examines the city's topography and political-administrative divisions, trade and economic production, and social landscape and infrastructure--from residential neighborhoods and gardens to walls, roads, aqueducts, and sewers. It describes the fourteen regions of Rome and the urban history of each in unprecedented detail, and includes profiles and reconstructions of major monuments and works of art. This is the only atlas of the ancient city to incorporate the most current archaeological findings and use the latest mapping technologies. Authoritative and easy to use, The Atlas of Ancient Rome is the definitive illustrated reference book on Rome from its origins to the sixth century AD. Fully updated from the Italian edition to include the latest discoveries and scholarship Features a wealth of maps, illustrations, and 3D reconstructions Covers Rome's topography, economy, urban infrastructure, and more. Includes profiles of major monuments and works of art draws on the latest archaeological findings and mapping technologies. Twenty years in the making by a team of leading experts.

The Third Edition of Brill's Encyclopedia of Islam is an entirely new work, with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. It will appear in four substantial segments each year, both online and in print. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.

When the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) assumed power in October 1949 China was one of the poorest nations in the world and so weak it had been conquered in the late 1930s and early 1940s by its neighbor Japan, a country one-10th its size. More than five decades later, the People's Republic of China (PRC) is an emerging economic, political, and major military power with the world's fastest growing economy and largest population (1.35 billion in 2015). A member of the United Nations Security Council since the early 1970s and a nuclear power, China wields enormous influence in the world community while at home what was once a nation of largely poverty-stricken peasants and urban areas with little-to-no industry has been transformed into an increasingly urbanized society with a growing middle class and an industrial and service sector that leads the world in such industries as steel and textiles while becoming a major player in computers and telecommunications. All the while the country has remained under the tight political control of a one-party system dominated by the Chinese Communist Party that despite periods of intense political conflict and turmoil governs China with a membership in 2014 of 88 million people--the largest single organization on earth. This third edition of Historical Dictionary of the People's Republic of China contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about China.

Completely updated, this comprehensive work illuminates the many concepts, themes, and issues in race relations in America, both from a historical perspective and in today's modern society. The three volumes of Racial & Ethnic Relations in America discuss the history of race relations in America, and provide new insight into racial relations and tensions seen in our cities, in the media, and on the minds of Americans today. Over 900 entries present clear, detailed descriptions of ideas and theories, descriptions of people and events, and essential facts about court cases, laws and movements. This new edtiion features a full update of existing material, taking into consideration new terms and language regarding race. Hundreds of articles have been added to this edition, including: Black Lives Matter, Black LGBTQ, Violence in Black Communities, Black Education Achievement Gap, Black Mass Incarceration, Inner City Youth Employment Crisis, Victimology and Black Reparations, and White on Black Killings. Four broad article types present detailed material in a clear, understandable language: Theory Articles discuss how racial groups are formed, how they change over time, how they relate to one another, and how they affect their members. History Articles provides readers with easy access to a wealth of articles on the historical background of race and ethnicity. Current Events & Issues offers coverage of the hot topics of today's American societies in a format that enables readers to delve more deeply into many of the key issues affecting our ability to interrelate with peoples of different racial, ethnic, and cultural backgrounds. Pioneers of Intergroup Relations provides sketches of individuals who have been especially influential in shaping relations among racial and ethnic groups . Additional supplementary materials include a Timeline, Bibliography, Personages Index, and a Subject Index. Designed for high school students, undergraduates, and public library patrons, this updated resource illuminates the many concepts, themes, and issues in race relations in America, both from a historical perspective and in today's modern society. This important work will be a useful addition to high school, university, community college, and public libraries, as well as for history and ethnic studies collections of all sizes.

Encyclopedia of the Ancient Maya offers an A-to-Z overview of the ancient Maya culture from its inception around 3000 BC to the Spanish Conquest after AD 1600. Over two hundred entries written by more than sixty researchers explore subjects ranging from food, clothing, and shelter to the sophisticated calendar and now-deciphered Maya writing system. They bring special attention to environmental concerns and climate variation; fresh understandings of shifting power dynamics and dynasties; and the revelations from emerging field techniques (such as LiDAR remote sensing) and newly explored sites (such as La Corona, Tamchen, and Yaxnohkah). This one-volume reference is an essential companion for students studying ancient civilizations, as well as a perfect resource for those planning to visit the Maya area. Cross-referencing, topical and alphabetical lists of entries, and a comprehensive index help readers find relevant details. Suggestions for further reading conclude each entry, while sidebars profile historical figures who have shaped Maya research. Maps highlight terrain, archaeological sites, language distribution, and more; over fifty photographs complement the volume.

"A landmark collection of documents by the field's leading scholar. This reader includes beautifully written introductions and a fascinating array of never-before-published primary documents. These treasures from the archives offer a new picture of colonial Saint-Domingue and the Haitian Revolution. The translations are lively and colorful." --Alyssa Sepinwall, California State University San Marcos

The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography is a major biographical reference work covering the lives and legacies of notable Afro-descendants from the Caribbean and Latin American, men and women from all eras and walks of life. This groundbreaking resource provides unprecedented coverage of the region through the lives of its people. Biographical records on Afro-Latin American and Caribbean lives are in short supply. Even as new historical scholarship has invigorated the international study of Latin America and Atlantic history, and even as new departments of Latin American Studies have flourished, no large-scale biographical reference work devoted to black subjects in the region has ever been attempted. This is a surprise given the enormous influence the people of these areas have had on history, culture, and technological achievement. The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography (DCALAB) will be published in print with over two thousand in-depth historical biographies of Caribbeans and Latin Americans. From Toussaint L'Ouverture to Celia Cruz to Pele, the DCALAB provides rigorous scholarship on the people that have shaped the Caribbean, Central America, and South America. The print work is only the first step in an ongoing research and publishing project, which will continue to grow online as part of the African American Studies Center. As a continuing publishing initiative, the DCALAB provides the most wide-reaching source of information ever produced on the lives of Afro-descendants who have shaped Latin American history, with entries written by leading scholars at research institutions from across the globe, linking together the international community of research. Led by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. (Harvard University's W. E. B. Du Bois Institute), in collaboration with Franklin W. Knight of Johns Hopkins University, this project is modeled after two other highly successful collaborations between Oxford University Press and the W. E. B. Du Bois Institute: the African American National Biography (AANB) and the Dictionary of African Biography (DAB). The Caribbean and Latin America represent the largest region of African Diaspora, and this new biographical reference work joins the other two to create the most complete account of black lives in the America sever assembled. Upholding the high editorial and academic standards of the AANB and the DAB, the Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography entries will similarly range from 500 to 2,000 words and include bibliographic notes and citations. Extensive indexing will provide a quick resource for both pinpointing individuals and browsing categories. Indispensable as a research tool, the Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography will be a milestone in the study of the Caribbean and Latin America.

Presents easy-to-understand information on more than 200 countries and dependencies from around the world in 5 volumes.

A uniquely useful rseource, the Atlas & Gazetteer* Series is great for information on camping, hiking, fishing, hunting, bije an dmotorcycle touring, birdwatching, back road exploration, and more. A guide is available for all 50 American states.

Rely on the Washington Atlas and Gazetteer for the utmost in trip planning and backcountry access. Contains topographic maps with unbeatable detail, plus gazetteer information on great places to go and things to do. Scale equals 1:150,000 or 1"=2.4 miles. Contour Interval is 100 meters (approximately 328 feet). Each page covers 24 miles x 34.5 miles, and includes GPS Grids and tick marks, placenames, range and township grids and shaded relief. 98 pages of maps, 120 pages in all. Gazetteer categories include Art museums, Science centers, Beaches, Bicycle routes, Campgrounds, Canoe trips, Downhill skiing, Excursions/Tours, Ferries, Boat trips, Fishing, Forests, Wilderness areas, Gardens, Golf courses, Hiking, Historic sites, Museums, Hunting, Information centers, Parks, Rockhounding, Scenic drives, Spectator sports, Unique natural features, Wildlife, and Wineries.

A uniquely useful rseource, the Atlas & Gazetteer* Series is great for information on camping, hiking, fishing, hunting, bije an dmotorcycle touring, birdwatching, back road exploration, and more. A guide is available for all 50 American states.

Four hundred years ago, indigenous peoples occupied the vast region that today encompasses Korea, Manchuria, the Mongolian Plateau, and Eastern Siberia. Over time, these populations struggled to maintain autonomy as Russia, China, and Japan sought hegemony over the region. Especially from the turn of the twentieth century onward, indigenous peoples pursued self-determination in a number of ways, and new states, many of them now largely forgotten, rose and fell as great power imperialism, indigenous nationalism, and modern ideologies competed for dominance. This atlas tracks the political configuration of Northeast Asia in ten-year segments from 1590 to 1890, in five-year segments from 1890 to 1960, and in ten-year segments from 1960 to 2010, delineating the distinct history and importance of the region. The text follows the rise and fall of the Qing dynasty in China, founded by the semi-nomadic Manchus; the Russian colonization of Siberia; the growth of Japanese influence; the movements of peoples, armies, and borders; and political, social, and economic developments-reflecting the turbulence of the land that was once the world's "cradle of conflict." Compiled from detailed research in English, Chinese, Japanese, French, Dutch, German, Mongolian, and Russian sources, the Historical Atlas of Northeast Asia incorporates information made public with the fall of the Soviet Union and includes fifty-five specially drawn maps, as well as twenty historical maps contrasting local and outsider perspectives. Four introductory maps survey the region's diverse topography, climate, vegetation, and ethnicity.

The earliest forms of ice hockey developed over the centuries in numerous cold weather countries. In the 17th century, a game similar to hockey was played in Holland known as kolven. But the modern sport of ice hockey arose from the efforts of college students and British soldiers in eastern Canada in the mid-19th century. Since then, ice hockey has moved from neighborhood lakes and ponds to international competitions, such as the Summit Series and the Winter Olympics. Historical Dictionary of Ice Hockey traces the history and evolution of hockey in general, as well as individual topics, from their beginnings to the present, through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary has more than 600 cross-referenced entries on the players, general managers, managers, coaches, and referees, as well as entries for teams, leagues, rules, and statistical categories. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about ice hockey.

Natural resource and environmental conflicts have long been issues confronting human societies. This case-based examination of a wide range of natural resource disputes exposes readers to many contemporary examples that offer reasons for both hope and concern. Provides a "case-based" approach to natural resource conflicts with examples of different scales, including timely cases drawn from the developed and developing world. Enables readers to reach a broader understanding of the scope of the issues through the variety of topics and cases; one of which is climate change in many of the emerging conflicts. Presents balanced information regarding each case argued from multiple viewpoints and perspectives, allowing the reader to gain a more balanced and comprehensive sense of the topics.

As editor Kenneth E. Hendrickson, III notes in his introduction: "Since the end of the nineteenth-century, industrialization has become a global phenomenon. After the relative completion of the advanced industrial economies of the West after 1945, patterns of rapid economic change invaded societies beyond western Europe, North America, the Commonwealth, and Japan." In The Encyclopedia of the Industrial Revolution in World History contributors survey the Industrial Revolution as a world historical phenomenon rather than through the traditional lens of a development largely restricted to Western society. The Encyclopedia of the Industrial Revolution in World History is a three-volume work of over 1,000 entries on the rise and spread of the Industrial Revolution across the world. Entries comprise accessible but scholarly explorations of topics from the "aerospace industry" to "zaibatsu." Contributor articles not only address topics of technology and technical innovation but emphasize the individual human and social experience of industrialization. Entries include generous selections of biographical figures and human communities, with articles on entrepreneurs, working men and women, families, and organizations. They also cover legal developments, disasters, and the environmental impact of the Industrial Revolution. Each entry also includes cross-references and a brief list of suggested readings to alert readers to more detailed information. The Encyclopedia of the Industrial Revolution in World History includes over 300 illustrations, as well as artfully selected, extended quotations from key primary sources, from Thomas Malthus' "Essay on the Principal of Population" to Arthur Young's look at Birmingham, England in 1791. This work is the perfect reference work for anyone conducting research in the areas of technology, business, economics, and history on a world historical scale.

Major Savings and Reforms:  Budget of the United States Government, Fiscal Year 2018 includes both discretionary and mandatory savings proposals that reportedly bring Federal spending under control and return the Federal budget to balance within 10 years.    Audience: Congress, civilian businesses and organizations, military and defense agencies (and all governmental agencies), and members of the general public would be interested in this publication and how the President's budgetary proposals could affect the economy and the continuing operation of different civilian organizations and federal agencies. High school, public, and academic libraries will want to include this resource in their Government collections.  The entire Fiscal Year (FY) 2018United States Government Budget resources collection can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/catalog/budget-economy/federal-budgets-year

The nation most trusted tax guide, updated for your 2017 returns. J.K. Lasser Your Income Tax 2018 is the nations most trusted tax guide, updated to help you prepare your 2017 return. Step-by-step expert guidance walks you through the forms, calculations, and deadlines to help you file your taxes without the headaches. New changes including tax laws, IRS rulings, court decisions, and more are explained in plain English, backed by examples of how they apply to individual taxpayers like yourself. Explore your options in terms of deductions, income shelters, and planning strategies to maximize your savings and keep more of your money without wading through volumes of dense tax code. This comprehensive yet accessible guide is your handbook for making your tax filing for 2017 easier than you thought possible. Tax time does not have to be a source of stress and anxiety. With the experts at J.K. Lasser by your side, you can file correctly and on time while paying less than you thought; this book shows you everything you need to know, and gives you the answers you need right at your fingertips. Learn how the latest changes from the IRS affect your return. Get trusted advice for maximizing deductions and sheltering income. Navigate the many IRS forms with step-by-step guidance. Start planning now to streamline next year filing. Keeping up with ever-changing tax laws is a full-time job, decoding incomprehensible IRS forms can be an exercise in frustration, and searching for the answers you need can often leave you with more questions. Americans have been turning to J.K. Lasser for over 75 years to find trusted guidance on critical tax issues. J.K. Lasser Your Income Tax 2018 is this years essential guide to taking the stress out of tax time.

Cultural sociology or the sociology of culture has grown from a minority interest in the 1970s to become one of the largest and most vibrant areas within sociology globally. In The SAGE Handbook of Cultural Sociology, a global range of experts explore the theory, methodology and innovations that make up this ever-expanding field. The Handbook's 40 original chapters have been organised into five thematic sections: Theoretical Paradigms Major Methodological, Perspectives Domains of Inquiry, Cultural Sociology in Contexts, Cultural Sociology, and Other Analytical Approaches. Both comprehensive and current The SAGE Handbook of Cultural Sociology will be an essential reference tool for both advanced students and scholars across sociology, cultural studies and media studies.

The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment provides the most comprehensive reference for a vast number of topics relevant to crime and punishment with a unique focus on the multi/interdisciplinary and international aspects of these topics and historical perspectives on crime and punishment around the world. Named as one of Choice Outstanding Academic Titles of 2016  Comprising nearly 300 entries, this invaluable reference resource serves as the most up-to-date and wide-ranging resource on crime and punishment. Offers a global perspective from an international team of leading scholars, including coverage of the strong and rapidly growing body of work on criminology in Europe, Asia, and other areas. Acknowledges the overlap of criminology and criminal justice with a number of disciplines such as sociology, psychology, epidemiology, history, economics, public health, and law. Entry topics are organized around 12 core substantive areas: international aspects, multi/interdisciplinary aspects, crime types, corrections, policing, law and justice, research methods, criminological theory, correlates of crime, organizations and institutions (U.S.), victimology, and special populations. Organized, authored and Edited by leading scholars, all of whom come to the project with exemplary track records and international standing. 3 Volumes www.crimeandpunishmentencyclopedia.com

This massive, four-volume work provides students with a close examination of 10 modern genocides enhanced by documents and introductions that provide additional historical and contemporary context for learning about and understanding these tragic events. Provides a comprehensive examination of 10 modern genocides together in a single reference work, written by experts to be easily readable by advanced high school, undergraduate, and graduate student. Includes a collection of documents with each genocide section that also contains appropriate introductions to set the historical and contemporary context. Addresses not only the sobering reality of these different modern genocides but the pervasive, long-term consequences and impact on the communities affected by them. Supplies analyze sections that allow for critical thinking while providing readers with insight into some of the most controversial and significant issues involving genocide. Serves as a gateway to further explorations regarding questions on genocide prevention, intervention, and the delivery of humanitarian aid.

This fascinating documentary history is the first English-language exploration of Joseph Stalin's relationship with, and manipulation of, the Soviet political police. The story follows the changing functions, organization, and fortunes of the political police and security organs from the early 1920s until Stalin's death in 1953, and it provides documented detail about how Stalin used these organs to achieve and maintain undisputed power. Although written as a narrative, it includes translations of more than 170 documents from Soviet archives.

Offering perspectives from a range of experts, both academic and nonacademic, this reference book examines the development of prisons in the United States and addresses the principal contemporary issues and controversies of our prisons and prison systems. Presents a comprehensive yet succinct history of the development of men's and women's prisons in the United States. Offers a range of author perspectives that identify and explore the principal issues associated with prisons and imprisonment. Documents the shift from an intent to reform inmates in prisons to retribution and an attempt to remove all criminals from society, using prisons for "warehousing" of undesired elements. Provides a complete reference guide for the understanding of prisons and imprisonment as a punishment.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History brings together, in one authoritative reference work, an unparalleled wealth of information about the laws, institutions, and actors that have governed America throughout its history. Embracing the interconnectedness of politics and law, The Encyclopedia addresses all aspects of both spheres, from presidents and Supreme Court justices to specifics of policy history, critical legislation, and party formation. Entries capture the unique nature of the nation's founding principlesembodied in the Constitution, the expansive nature of American democracy, political conflict, and compromise, and the emergence of the modern welfare and regulatory state, all of which evince the tensions, contradictions, and possibilities manifest throughout America's history. Clearly demonstrating how US politics and law have evolved since the colonial era, the Encyclopedia encourages readers to anticipate further changes. With over 450 articles by expert scholars, each signed entry features numerous cross references and discussion of political and legal history as well as additional sources for further study. This two-volume A-to-Z compendium is a reference work of unparalleled depth and scope and will introduce anew generation of readers to the complexities of this dynamic field of study. It also features extensive cross-referencing, a topical outline, and a subject index.

This latest addition to the Whole Story series offers an encyclopedic and lavishly illustrated survey of architecture throughout human history. Sweeping in reach and exhaustive in detail, Architecture: The Whole Story is an indispensible reference for anyone interested in the evolution of our built environment. Ranging chronologically from the Neolithic period to the sustainability movement of today, it looks at hundreds of examples of structures, their designers, and their contextual significance. Through lively spreads that feature entire buildings as well as close examinations of specific features, this book offers an informed and accessible survey of architecture from every era and continent. Readers will learn about the Egyptian pyramids and Neo-Sumerian tombs, the "lost" city of Machu Picchu, Chinese pagodas, Japanese temples, and much more. The classic Western styles of Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, and Baroque are covered as well as Colonial, Regency, Beaux-Arts, Art Deco, and Utopian, among others. Accompanying the spreads on key buildings by various architects are brief essays addressing major styles and tendencies, while a timeline of significant developments also runs throughout the volume. Smart, practical, and affordable, this book is an incomparable resource that offers all the tools necessary to appreciate the places where we live, work, worship, and recreate.

This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook. Whether it be music, dance, cinematography, costume design, or many other choices, students interested in a career in theatre and the performing arts have an incredibly wide variety of options to choose from when selecting a career path. Careers in Theatre & Performing Arts is designed to provide need-to-know information on the various careers in this popular field. Careers in Theatre & Performing Arts provides detailed information on 25 different career paths, including: Actor, Dancer, Camera Operator ,Costume Designer, Makeup Artist, Art Director, Stage Manager, Music Director . Information-packed chapters provide real-world information about these in-demand professions, including: A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Conversations with Real Professionals.

The 150th Anniversary edition of the best-selling reference book of all time! The World Almanac and Book of Facts is America's top-selling reference book of all time, with more than 82 million copies sold. Since 1868, this compendium of information has been the authoritative source for all your entertainment, reference, and learning needs. The 150th anniversary edition celebrates its illustrious history while keeping an eye on the future. Praised as a "treasure trove of political, economic, scientific and educational statistics and information" by The Wall Street Journal, The World Almanac and Book of Facts will answer all of your trivia needs--from history and sports to geography, pop culture, and much more. Features include: 150 Years of The World Almanac: A special feature celebrating The World Almanac's historic run includes highlights from its distinguished past and some old-fashioned "facts," illustrating how its defining mission has changed with the times. Historical Anniversaries: The World Almanac's recurring feature expands to incorporate milestone events and cultural touchstones dating to the book's founding year, from the impeachment of President Andrew Johnson to the publication of Little Women. World Almanac Editors' Picks: Greatest Single-Season Performances: In light of Russell Westbrook's unprecedented 42 regular-season triple-doubles (and the second-ever season triple-double), The World Almanac takes a look back in sports history for athletes' best single-season runs. Statistical Spotlight: A popular new feature highlights statistics relevant to the biggest stories of the year. These data visualizations provide important context and new perspectives to give readers a fresh angle on important issues. The Obama Presidency: A year after Barack Obama's second term came to a close, The World Almanac reviews the accomplishments, missteps, and legacy of the 44th president. The World at a Glance: This annual feature of The World Almanac provides a quick look at the surprising stats and curious facts that define the changing world. Other New Highlights: A brand-new biography of the 45th president and profile of the Trump administration; official 2016 election results; and statistics on criminal incarceration and sentence lengths, health care, overdose deaths, shootings, terrorism, and much more. The Year in Review: The World Almanac takes a look back at 2017 while providing all the information you'll need in 2018. 2017 - Top 10 News Topics: The editors of The World Almanac list the top stories that held the world's attention in 2017. 2017 - Year in Sports: Hundreds of pages of trivia and statistics that are essential for any sports fan, featuring a preview of the upcoming 2018 Winter Olympic Games, complete coverage of the 2017 World Series, new tables of NBA, NHL, and NCAA statistics, and much more. 2017 - Year in Pictures: Striking full-color images from around the world in 2017, covering news, entertainment, science, and sports. 2017 - Offbeat News Stories: The World Almanac editors found some of the quirkiest news stories of the year, from the king who secretly worked as an airline pilot for decades to the state that's auctioning off its governor's mansion. World Almanac Editors' Picks: Time Capsule: The World Almanac lists the items that most came to symbolize the year 2017, from news and sports to pop culture.

Winner of the 2016 Choice Outstanding Academic Title Award The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is also available online and as a two-volume boxed set. The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is the English translation of Franco Montanari's Vocabolario della Lingua Greca. With an established reputation as the most important modern dictionary for Ancient Greek, it brings together 140,000 headwords taken from the literature, papyri, inscriptions and other sources of the archaic period up to the 6th Century CE, and occasionally beyond.The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is an invaluable companion for the study of Classics and Ancient Greek, for beginning students and advanced scholars alike. Translated and edited under the auspices of The Center for Hellenic Studies in Washington, DC, The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is based on the completely revised 3rd Italian edition published in 2013 by Loescher Editore, Torino. Features -The principal parts of some 15,000 verbs are listed directly following the entry and its etymology. For each of these forms, the occurrence in the ancient texts has been certified. When found only once, the location is cited. -Nearly all entries include citations from the texts with careful mention of the source. -The dictionary is especially rich in personal names re-checked against the sources for the 3rd Italian edition, and in scientific terms, which have been categorized according to discipline. -Each entry has a clear structure and typography making it easy to navigate. "For a number of years now, scholars at ease in Italian have benefitted enormously from the riches, layout, concision, and accuracy of Professor Montanari's Vocabolario della Lingua Greca, with its added advantage of the inclusion of names. Hence classicists in general will welcome the English version of this very valuable resource." Professor Richard Janko, University of Michigan "Franco Montanari is a giant in our field, and his Dictionary is a major leap forward for us...." Professor Gregory Nagy, Harvard University

English and Spanish speakers are coming into increasing contact throughout the Americas, as businesspeople and tourists, students and neighbors, readers and Web surfers. The American Heritage Spanish Dictionary, Second Edition is the perfect resource for everyone who uses, studies, or simply enjoys learning more about these two important languages. Featuring American English and Latin American Spanish, this popular bilingual dictionary is now fully revised and updated. More than 2,500 contemporary words and phrases have been added from the fields of medicine, sports, ecology, and the culture of the Americas, with a special emphasis on computer technology and the language of the Internet.

Endorsed by academics worldwide, the Oxford Arabic Dictionary is the most authoritative English-Arabic / Arabic-English dictionary ever published. Based on real modern evidence and computational analysis of hundreds of millions of words of both English and Modern Standard Arabic (the standardized variety of Arabic used in writing and in most formal speech), the dictionary boasts more than 130,000 words and phrases and 200,000 translations. This up-to-date resource has been designed for both Arabic and English native speakers and includes the latest vocabulary from computing, business,the media, and the arts, across both languages. The organization and layout have been designed for maximum clarity and ease of use. The most commonly used sense of each word is shown first, helping you to identify and understand the correct meaning, and more than 70,000 real-life example phrases help you interpret meaning and usage accurately. All Arabic text is shown with vowels to aid the learner of Arabic in pronunciation and comprehension and the Arabic-English section of the dictionary is usefully organised by root, which are listed alphabetically. The dictionary is also packed with extra features including tables of Arabic verbs, Arabic numbers, dates, and years, and irregular English verbs. Produced using the unique dictionary resources of Oxford University Press with an international team of expert advisors, the Oxford Arabic Dictionary is a ground-breaking work, essential for any serious student of Arabic and English, as well as academics, professionals, business people, teachers, and translators. Readership: Ideal for editors, translators, business people, teachers, academics, and students.

This expansive three-volume set investigates racial representation in film, providing an authoritative cross-section of the most racially significant films, actors, directors, and movements in American cinematic history. Views the films via a historical approach in which every subject is considered both through a contemporary lens and in terms of the time of its production and initial reception. Provides up-to-date information on recent movies such as Selma (2014), The Fast and The Furious (2001-2015), 12 Years a Slave (2013), Django Unchained (2012), and Lone Survivor (2013). Provides readers with the information and background necessary to form informed views about racial representation in film--still an important "hot-button" subject today. Edited by top scholars in the field, Daniel Bernardi and Michael Green, and contains entries by other important experts, such as Andrew Gordon and Priscilla Ovalle.

Fictional war narratives often employ haunted battlefields, super-soldiers, time travel, the undead and other imaginative elements of science fiction and fantasy. This encyclopedia catalogs appearances of the strange and the supernatural found in the war stories of film, television, novels, short stories, pulp fiction, comic books and video and role-playing games. Categories explore themes of mythology, science fiction, alternative history, superheroes and Weird War.

Scholars of international relations and international communications view the extent of media freedom from country to country as a key comparative indicator either by itself or in correlation with other indices of national political and economic development. This indicator serves as a bellwether for gauging the health and spread of democracy. Historical Guide to World Media Freedom is a new reference from CQ Press that brings together comprehensive historical data on media freedom since World War II. It provides consistent and comparable measures of media freedom in all independent countries for the years 1948 to the present. The work also includes country-by country summaries, analyses of historical and regional trends in media freedom, and extensive reliability analyses of media freedom measures. The key information provided is designed to help researchers connect these historical measures of media freedom to Freedom House's annual Freedom of the Press survey release, enabling them to extend their studies back before the 1980s when Freedom House began compiling global press freedom measures. The reference covers three major areas: introductory chapters discuss the theoretical premises behind the nature and importance of media freedom, operational definitions of media freedom, the challenges of compiling reliable measures, historical trends, and the challenges of coding for media freedom in a way that ensures consistency for comparison. The heart of the book includes alphabetical, country-by-country summaries of the ebb and flow of media freedom paired with national media freedom measures over time. This is essential reading for researchers to connect the dots in understanding global media freedom. Concluding material provides a detailed discussion of the historical patterns in media freedom, consideration of how media freedom tracks with other cross-national indicators, and discussion of the reliability of the information available on media freedom. Accessible to both students and scholars alike, this groundbreaking new reference will be essential to collections in political science, international studies, and journalism and communications.

Selected from a diverse field of speakers and venues, this volume offers some of the most engaging American speeches of the year.

This annual overview report of national trends in health statistics contains a Chartbook that assesses the nation's health by presenting trends and current information on selected measures of morbidity, mortality, health care utilization and access, health risk factors, prevention, health insurance, and personal health-care expenditures. Chapters devoted to population characteristics, prevention, health risk factors, health care resources, personal health care expenditures, health insurance, and trend tables may provide the health/medical statistician, data analyst, biostatistician with additional information to complete experimental studies or provide necessary research for pharmaceutical companies to gain data for modeling and sampling. Undergraduate students engaged in applied mathematics or statistical compilations to graduate students completing biostatistics degree programs to include statistical inference principles, probability, sampling methods and data analysis as well as specialized medical statistics courses relating to epidemiology and other health topics may be interested in this volume. Related products: Your Guide to Choosing a Nursing Home or Other Long-Term Services & Supports available here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/your-guide-choosing-nursing-home-or-other-long-term-services-supports, Health Insurance Coverage in the United States, 2014 available here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/health-insurance-coverage-united-states-2014 "Some System of the Nature Here Proposed": Joseph Lovell's Remarks on the Sick Report, Northern Department, U.S. Army, 1817, and the Rise of the Modern US Army Medical Department can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/some-system-nature-here-proposed-joseph-lovells-remarks-sick-report-northern-department-us Guide to Clinical Preventive Services 2014.

Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia of cancer types, side effects, diagnostic tests, procedures, and treatments. Contains photographic images, tables, and illustrations.

This book is the first full-length critical study to explore the rapidly growing cadre of amateur-authored, independently-published, and niche-market picture books that have been released during the opening decades of the twenty-first century. Emerging from a powerful combination of the ease and affordability of desktop publishing software; the promotional, marketing, and distribution possibilities allowed by the Internet; and the tremendous national divisiveness over contentious socio-political issues, these texts embody a shift in how narratives for young people are being creatively conceived, materially constructed, and socially consumed in the United States. Abate explores how titles such as My Parents Open Carry (about gun laws), It#65533;s Just a Plant (about marijuana policy), and My Beautiful Mommy (about the plastic surgery industry) occupy important battle stations in ongoing partisan conflicts, while they are simultaneously changing the landscape of American children#65533;s literature. The book demonstrates how texts like Little Zizi and Me Tarzan, You Jane mark the advent of not simply a new commercial strategy in texts for young readers; they embody a paradigm shift in the way that narratives are being conceived, constructed, and consumed. Niche market picture books can be seen as a telling barometer about public perceptions concerning children and the social construction of childhood, as well as the function of narratives for young readers in the twenty-first century. At the same time, these texts reveal compelling new insights about the complex interaction among American print culture, children#65533;s reading practices, and consumer capitalism. Amateur-authored, self-published, and specialty-subject titles reveal the way in which children, childhood, and children#65533;s literature are both highly political and heavily politicized in the United States. The book will be of interest to scholars and students in the fields of American Studies, children#65533;s literature, childhood studies, popular culture, political science, microeconomics, psychology, advertising, book history, education, and gender studies.