This is the "HIST 290" page of the "HIST 290: Junior Seminar - Historiography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 290: Junior Seminar - Historiography  

Selected Sources for Research, Milne Library, SUNY College at Oneonta, Spring 2012
Last Updated: Jul 26, 2013 URL: http://libguides.oneonta.edu/hist290spring2012 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
HIST 290 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Help

Librarians are available to help you in several ways:

  • Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library, located on your left after you enter the first floor through the main entrance or through Jazzman's Cafe.
  • Call the Research Help Desk at Milne Library at 436-2722. If the librarian is busy, you can leave a message on voice mail.
  • E-mail a question to a Milne librarian & get a response within 48 hours.
  • Request a research consultation to meet individually with a librarian. 
 

Finding Books in Other Libraries

WorldCat is an online database listing materials in U.S. libraries and selected libraries throughout the world. Holdings are indicated for Milne Library, and the Stevens-German Library at Hartwick College. You can search by author, title, subject, and keyword. If Milne Library does not own an item, you can request items by following the Request via Interlibrary Loan link provided on the record for an item in WorldCat. Locate WorldCat in the alphabetical list of databases.

You can also check out items at Hartwick College with your SUNY Oneonta ID card.

 

Finding Books in Milne Library

Use the library catalog search box on the library home page. This is an index to the physical contents of Milne Library and to items available online. Enter keywords in the search box. Truncate or shorten terms using the *, if you are uncertain of the spelling, or if searching for variations of a word, such as myth(s), mythology(ies), mythical. Press Enter.

For example: industrial* brit*

In any list of results, the number of copies owned by the library will be followed by the number of items in circulation. (1 owned / 0 out). The Is it here? link to the far right provides more detail about the status of the item and includes location. This link must be checked to determine if an electronic book is checked out. For available books, follow the link to Electronic Book or Online Item.

For more information about any item, click on the title in the results list. To limit the list to those items more specifically about your topic, click on the headings after subject at the bottom of the record for the item. The resulting list should have fewer, but more relevant, items.

If you do not find the item on the shelf, ask at the Circulation Desk to see if the book has been checked in and is waiting to be shelved. If still not available, complete a “Search” card for the item. A staff member will look for the item and notify you of the results. Items in circulation can be requested on interlibrary loan from another library.

Reference Books

Encyclopedias, almanacs, and handbooks provide quick, reliable information about a topic.  They are excellent starting points for research when you need to find background information, important concepts, names and dates.  These sources often include lists of books and articles for further reading.


Use Reference Universe to find information indexed in print and electronic reference sources.  A computer with scanner is available in the reference area for copying information.  Assistance is available at the Research Help Desk.

  • Reference Universe
    Indexes thousands of print and electronic reference books in the Milne Library. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
 

Finding Background Information on Historians

Blackwell Dictionary of Historians

Ref D 14 B58 1988

Encyclopedia of Historians & Historical Writing

Ref D 14 E53 1999

Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing

Ref D 13 G47 1998

Great Historians of the Modern Age

Ref D 14 G 75 1991

 

Finding Biographies

Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)

Ref CT 788 D56

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Ref DA 28 O95 2004

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Supplement 2001-2004

Ref DA 28 O95 2009

Compendium of Irish Biography

Ref DA 916 W3 1970

Dictionary of Labour Biography

Ref HD 8393 A1 B44

Encyclopedia of World Biography
 
 Includes short essays with references.

Ref CT 103 E56 1997

Biography Index
Lists biographies and interviews appearing in books and periodicals.

Ref CT 100 B5

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Provides citations to short entries in reference books, including the DNB, for historical and  contemporary figures.

Milne Library Web Site (under Databases)

Great Lives from History: The 19th Century 1801-1900

Ref CT 119 G69 2007

Research Guide to European Historical Biography

Ref  CT 759 R47 1992

Finding Background Information on British History

Ashgate Companion to the History of Textile Workers, 1650-2000

Ref HD 8039 C6 A74 2010

Encyclopedia of European Social History, 1350-2000

Ref HN 373 E63 2001

Oxford Companion to British History

Ref DA 34 O93 1997

Oxford Companion to Black British History

Ref DA 125 N 4094 2007

Oxford Illustrated History of the British Army

Ref DA 50 O94 1994

Oxford Companion to Irish History

Ref DA 912 N485 1991

 

  • Cambridge Histories Online
    Complete text of over 200 scholarly texts in the Cambridge History Series. Each title is also listed individually in the library's online catalog.
 

Finding Print Indexes for Articles in Periodicals & Essays in Books

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, v. 1-6
  
Indexes both American and British periodicals

Ref AI 3 P7, 1802-1906

19th-Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
  Indexes both American and British periodicals

Ref AI 3 R479

Catalogue of British Parliamentary Papers 1801-1900

Ref Z 2019 1735

Finding Periodical Articles- General

All of the following databases are linked on the website in the alphabetical list under Databases.

  • Academic OneFile
    Provides over 54,000,000 articles, most full-text, from about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. Provided by the New York State Library.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present. Provided by SUNYConnect. Youtube

  • JSTOR archive
    Full text of about 1400 core scholarly journals across most subject areas. The objective of JSTOR is to provide all issues back to Volume 1, Issue 1. Although some current titles are included, the most recent 3-5 years are generally unavailable due to copyright restrictions. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta. Youtube
  • Periodicals Archive Online
    Includes text of journals that span 200 years in the humanities and social sciences.
  • Project Muse - Basic Undergraduate
    Full text of over 100 scholarly journals in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics. Provided by SUNY Oneonta.
  • ScienceDirect
    Provides full text access to over 2200 Elsevier journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology. Provided by SUNY Oneonta and SUNYConnect.

Finding Periodical Articles - Gender Studies

All of the following databases are linked on the website in the alphabetical list under Databases.

  • GenderWatch
    Provides selected full text of journals, newsletters and research reports on studies of women and gender.

Finding Periodical Articles - History

All of the following databases are linked on the website in the alphabetical list under Databases.

  • Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature
    Indexes books and articles on history from ancient times through the the 20th century.
  • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
    Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and the history of education. Indexing and abstracts for about 1800 journals; full-text for about 350 journals. Coverage is from 1955 to the present. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
  • Royal Historical Society Bibliography
    The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
 

Finding Secondary & Primary Sources by using Bibliographies

Bibliography of Imperial, Colonial, and Commonwealth History Since 1600
  (see "Printed Primary Sources" under each section in the Table of Contents)

Ref DA 16 B53 2002

Bibliography of British History

The 18th Century: 1714-1789

1789-1851

 

Ref DA 498 P37

Ref DA 520 B93 B5 1977


 

Bibliography of British & Irish Municipal History

Ref Z 2023 M26

British Autobiographies

Ref Z 2027 A9 M3 1968

Guide to Historical Literature

Ref D 20 A55 1995

Guide to the Printed Materials for English Social History

Ref Z 7165 G8 W7 1966

 

Finding Primary Sources

Some titles only list sources, whereas others include the text of sources.

Times Digital Archive

Full text of The Times(London) 1785-2006

Under Databases on library website

LexisNexis Academic

Includes Full Text of The Times(London) 1985 -

Under Databases on library website

Readings in English History

DA 32 C54

Source-Book of English History

DA 32.5 L5

English Historical Documents, 1783-1832
English Historical Documents, 1833-1874

DA 26 E55

When searching print and online access tools, use search terms such as SOURCES, CORRESPONDENCE, PERSONAL NARRATIVES, DIARIES, RECORDS AND CORRESPONDENCE, SERMONS, SPEECHES, PAPERS.

Look for titles of primary sources in secondary sources and in lists included in bibliographies of secondary sources. Use text, class, and library bibliographies for recommended titles or listings of primary sources.

Full text of six 18th- and 19th-century British periodicals available online under Internet Library of Early Journals located under Databases on the library website.

 

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on or Find It!. If a full text of the article is available in another database, there will be a link connecting you to that database, where you can locate the article in the appropriate volume, or search for the article by title or author.

If the article is unavailable electronically, but available in print or microfilm, click on Oneonta Local Collection for exact holdings. Periodicals are located on compact shelving or in microfilm drawers on the floor P.

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library in any form after you have linked to "Check Library Catalog", you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed (see computer screen that comes up after you click on Find It!). You need to be registered to submit ILL requests. See a librarian for help. You can also request articles through the Interlibrary Loan  link on the library website.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip