This is the "HIST 100" page of the "HIST 100: Western Civilization I" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 100: Western Civilization I  

Selected Sources for Research, Milne Library, SUNY College at Oneonta, Spring 2012 Professor Mike Friery; Librarian Kay Benjamin
Last Updated: Jul 26, 2013 URL: http://libguides.oneonta.edu/hist100frieryspring2012 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
HIST 100 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Help

Librarians are available to help you in several ways:

  • Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library, located on your left after you enter the first floor through the main entrance or through Jazzman's Cafe.
  • Call the Research Help Desk at Milne Library at 436-2722. If the librarian is busy, you can leave a message on voice mail.
  • E-mail a question to a Milne librarian & get a response within 48 hours.
  • Request a research consultation to meet individually with a librarian. 

Finding Background Information

Encyclopedias, almanacs, and handbooks provide quick, reliable information about a topic.  They are excellent starting points for research when you need to find background information, important concepts, names and dates.  These sources often include lists of books and articles for further reading.

  • Cambridge Histories Online
    (Library website under Databases)
    Complete text of over 200 scholarly texts in the Cambridge History Series. Each title is also listed individually in the library's online catalog.
  • Reference Universe
    Use Reference Universe to find information indexed in print and electronic reference sources. A computer with scanner is available in the reference area for copying information. Assistance is available at the Research Help Desk.

Encylopedias on Specific Areas/Time Periods/Subjects

The Age of Wars of Religion (2 vols.)

Ref D 114 N66 2006

Atlas of Ancient and Classical Geography

Ref G 1033 A8 1952

Atlas of Exploration

Ref G 1036 S12 G4 2008

Atlas of Medieval Jewish History

Ref G 1034 B413 1992

Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization

Ref DE 5 C28 2006

Cambridge World History of Food

Ref TX 353 C255 2000

Cambridge World History of Human Disease

Ref R131 C233 1993

Chronology of World History v.1 Prehistory - AD 1491

Ref D 11 M39 1999

Classical Tradition

Ref DE 60 C55 2010

Complete Atlas of World History (3 vols.)

Ref G 1030 C66 1997

The Crusades: An Encyclopedia (4 vols.)

Ref D 155 C78 2005

Daily Life Through History (series title)

On Milne Library Web Site

Dictionary of Battles & Sieges

Ref D 25 J33 2007

Dictionary of Women Worldwide

Ref CT 3202 D53 2007

Dictionary of the Middle Ages (12 vols. & Suppl.)

Ref D 114 D5 1982

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (4 vols.)

Ref BH 456 E53 1998

Encyclopedia of African History

Ref DT 20 E53 2005

Encyclopedia of Ancient Natural Scientists: The Greek Tradition

Ref Q 124.95 E53 2008

Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350-2000

Ref HN 373 E63 2001

Encyclopedia of Islam & the Muslim World

Ref BP 40 E524 2004

Encyclopedia of Religion (15 vols.)

Ref BL 31 E46 2005

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages

Ref D 114 E53 1999

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation

Ref CB 359 B47 2004

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures

Ref HQ 1170 E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World

Ref HQ1127 S25 2001

Gale Virtual Library (online subject encyclopedias)

On Milne Library Web Site under Databases

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Global Medieval Life and Culture

Ref CB 351 G 743 2009

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture

Ref N 5610 G76 2007

Medieval France

New Encyclopedia of Africa v. 2

Ref DC 33.2 M44 1995

Ref DT 2 N48 2008

Oxford Companion to Military History

Ref D 25 A2 O94 2003

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium (3 vols.)

Ref DF 521 O93 1991

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt   (3 vols.)

Ref DT 58 O94 2001

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (10 vols.)

Ref B 51 R68 1998

(also online under Databases)

Science & Its Times

Ref Q 175.46 2000

Women in the Middle Ages

Ref HQ 1143 W643 2004

World Eras (series title) 

 

     Ancient Egypt 

Ref DT 61 A55 2002

     Classical Greek Civilization, 800-323 B.C.E.

Ref DF 77 W67 2001

     European Renaissance & Reformation, 1350-1660

Ref CB 359 W67 2001

     Medieval Europe 

Ref D 102 M38 2002

     Rise and Spread of Islam, 622-1500

Ref DS 36.85 W67 2002

     Roman Republic & Empire, 264 B.C.E. - 476 C.E.

Ref DG 77 W726 2001

      
     

    Finding Books

    The Milne Library Catalog, WorldCat, and Google Books all search for books but in different ways. These three different tools are interconnected. A search in Google Books will lead you to books in WorldCat and the Milne Library Catalog. A search in MilneCat can lead you to a book in Google Books. A search in WorldCat will find books in many libraries, including Milne Library.

    Library Catalog

    Search the contents of Milne Library here at the SUNY Oneonta campus. Use this if you need to find a book that you can use immediately. This is the default search box on the library home page.

    • You can search by author, title, subject, and keyword (words anywhere).
    • Note the call number for the item and consult Library Floor Plans to determine the location of the item.
    • For more information about any item, click on the title in the results list.
    • To check a something out, take the item(s) to the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor across from the main front doors, and present your Oneonta ID.

    WorldCat

    Search well over a billion items, including books in Milne Library AND books from thousands of other libraries. On the library home page, use the WorldCat tab at the top.

    Google Books

    Google has digitized thousands of books which can be read in part or in total here. The advantage of using Google Books is that it searches the entire contents of the book, unlike the Milne Library Catalog and WorldCat which only search the title, author, and subject headings.

    •  To get a copy of the book, follow the link Find a Library which will connect you to WorldCat to see if Milne has the book.
    • If we do not have it, use the Request via Interlibrary Loan link in WorldCat to have our library borrow a copy for you.

    General Databases that include History-Related Articles

    Finding Periodical Articles

    All of the following databases are linked from the library home page under Databases tab at the top of the page. Each of the following databases indexes articles from periodicals in various subject areas.

    • Academic OneFile
      Provides over 54,000,000 articles, most full-text, from about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. Provided by the New York State Library.
    • Academic Search Complete
      Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present. Provided by SUNYConnect. Youtube

    • GenderWatch
      Offers authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Coverage is from 1970 to the present. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
    • JSTOR archive
      Full text of about 1400 core scholarly journals across most subject areas. The objective of JSTOR is to provide all issues back to Volume 1, Issue 1. Although some current titles are included, the most recent 3-5 years are generally unavailable due to copyright restrictions. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta. Youtube
    • Periodicals Archive Online
      Includes full text of journals that span 200 years in the humanities and social sciences.
    • Project Muse - Basic Undergraduate
      Full text of over 100 scholarly journals in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics. Provided by SUNY Oneonta.
    • ScienceDirect
      Provides full text access to over 2200 Elsevier journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology. Provided by SUNY Oneonta and SUNYConnect.

    History-Specific Databases

    • Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature
      Indexes books and articles on history from ancient times through the 20th century.
    • Bibliography of British and Irish History
      Index to historical writing dealing with the British Isles, the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available. Covers 55 BC to the present. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
    • Daily Life Through History
      Explores the daily lives of people during past periods and civilizations, beginning in 10,000 BCE and continuing to the present. Includes ancient Egypt, ancient Greece, the Roman Empire, medieval Europe, the Viking Age, Inca civilization, China in the 21st century, and others. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
    • Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
      Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit research organization focused on study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes bibliographies, indexes, and a few full-text journals. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
    • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
      Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and the history of education. Indexing and abstracts for about 1800 journals; full-text for about 350 journals. Coverage is from 1955 to the present. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
     

    Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

    Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

    If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on or Find It!. If a full text of the article is available in another database, there will be a link connecting you to that database, where you can locate the article in the appropriate volume, or search for the article by title or author.

    If the article is unavailable electronically, but available in print or microfilm, click on Oneonta Local Collection for exact holdings. Periodicals are located on compact shelving or in microfilm drawers on the floor P.

    Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:

    If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library in any form after you have linked to "Check Library Catalog", you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed (see computer screen that comes up after you click on Find It!). You need to be registered to submit ILL requests. See a librarian for help. You can also request articles through the Interlibrary Loan  link on the library website.

     

    Finding an Article from a Citation

    If you have the citation for a periodical article, click on the Journals tab on the library website and enter the title of the journal or magazine. The resulting list will indicate which database(s) include the periodical. Follow the link to the database, then either follow the links to the specific issue of the periodical, or enter the article title in a search box. If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, the holdings will be indicated by linking to Oneonta Local Collection.

     

    Finding Web Resources

    To insure that you find the best and most authoritative information on the web, follow these suggestions:

       1.  Limit searches to .gov and .edu:

    To do this add site:gov or site: edu to any web search

    liberty "martin luther" site:edu

      2.  Use only key words and place phrases inside " ":

    "knights templar" crusades

    "roman rule" britain

      3.   In Google, or any search engine, use the Advanced Search to help limit and refine your search.

    Wikipedia

    Although it is not appropriate to use Wikipedia articles as scholarly sources to use in your works cited, thee articles can be excellent starting places for an introduction to a topic. In addition, the references and externals links at the end of the articles can be mined for articles, books, and web pages which you can use as sources.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip