This is the "COMP 100 - Weinschenk" page of the "COMP 100 (Weinschenk)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

COMP 100 (Weinschenk)  

Last Updated: Feb 12, 2013 URL: http://libguides.oneonta.edu/content.php?pid=324480 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

COMP 100 - Weinschenk Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Periodical Articles

Periodicals are publications that come out on a regular, or periodic, basis. Examples include newspapers, magazines, and journals. Scholarly, or peer-reviewed, periodicals are appropriate for more serious research, while magazines, or popular, periodicals are intended for entertainment or information for general audiences. See this Types of Periodicals guide to understand all the differences. These databases allow you to search for content that is not, for the most part, free on the web. The library pays for access to these databases. 

An editorial is an article in a publication expressing the opinion of its editors or publishers.  These can be difficult to ferret out of a large database.  Use the following search strategy to help find editorials (this may vary some between databases): In the first search box, enter the word "editorial"; in the second search box enter your topic "ledalization and marijuana".

Use the Browse by Discipline list (under the Databases tab on the home page) to find the best databases for your topic.

  • Academic OneFile
    Provides over 54,000,000 articles, most full-text, from about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. Provided by the New York State Library.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present. Provided by SUNYConnect. Youtube

  • New York Times Archive, 1851-2009
    The New York Times archive provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. It is possible to limit by article type including: classified ad, display ad, editorial cartoon, letter, comic, editorial article, review, stock quote, weather, legal notice, and real estate transaction. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
  • Newspaper Source Plus
    Includes over 850 full-text U.S. and international newspapers as well as over 800,000 television and radio news transcripts. Provided by SUNY-Connect.
  • Project Muse - Basic Undergraduate
    Full text of over 100 scholarly journals in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics. Provided by SUNY Oneonta.
 

Finding an Article from a Citation

If you have the citation for a periodical article, click on the Journals tab on the library website and enter the title of the journal or magazine. The resulting list will indicate which database(s) include the periodical. Follow the link to the database, then either follow the links to the specific issue of the periodical, or enter the article title in a search box. If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, the holdings will be indicated by linking to Oneonta Local Collection.

Finding Information on Controversial Issues

Not sure what topic interests you? Any of the sources listed below can be used to identify a topic.  The databases can be accessed from the alphabetical list of databases on the home page.  The website links will take you to the home page of the website.

  • CQ Researcher: 1923-present
    Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries of the issues. Full text. Five simultaneous users. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
  • Points of View Reference Center
    Contains full-text essays representing multiple sides of about 250 topics; in addition, the database includes political magazines, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books. Designed to provide a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications. Provided by SUNYConnect.
  • Public Agenda Online
  • U.S. Department of State Online
  • Huffington Post Online
 

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on or Find It!. If a full text of the article is available in another database, there will be a link connecting you to that database, where you can locate the article in the appropriate volume, or search for the article by title or author.

If the article is unavailable electronically, but available in print or microfilm, click on Oneonta Local Collection for exact holdings. Periodicals are located on compact shelving or in microfilm drawers on the floor P.

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library in any form after you have linked to "Check Library Catalog", you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed (see computer screen that comes up after you click on Find It!). You need to be registered to submit ILL requests. See a librarian for help. You can also request articles through the Interlibrary Loan  link on the library website.

News and Opinion Magazines

A lot of "news and opinion" magazines contain articles on controversial issues that are discussed in news media.  These magazines have an editorial slant, such as "liberal, "middle-of-the-road," or "conservative."

  • American Spectator
    A national opinion magazine reaching opinion leaders in business, government & media through its coverage & analysis of business, politics, economics, foreign policy & culture.
  • Commentray
    Presents articles dealing with current events, with an emphasis on politics, social science and culture, with special interest in Jewish affairs.
  • Dissent
    Features reflective articles about politics in the U.S., incisive social & cultural commentary, plus sophisticated coverage of European politics.
  • National Catholic Reporter
    Provides views on religious, social and moral issues. Serves as a platform for discussions of church, society and global community. Although a large amount of its reporting deals with issues of the Catholic Church, an equal amount of its coverage includes the religious, political and social forces shaping public policies and institutions.
  • National Review
    Provides first hand reports on national, international, and cultural affairs with focus on Washington and other political hot spots.
  • The Nation
    A journal of politics, economics, education, foreign policy, labor, law and other social issues, literature and the arts.
  • USA Today Magazine
    Presents articles on the American scene.
  • Washington Monthly
    Political journal providing an inside look at how the government works in Washington.

Examples of Subject Databases

  • Business Source Complete
    Provides full-text for scholarly business and management journals as well as financial data, case studies, industry reports, market reports, and company profiles. Journal coverage is from 1886 to the present. Provided by SUNY-Connect.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    Covers all aspects of communication and mass media. Offers indexing and abstracts for over 700 journals with full-text for about 450 journals. Coverage is from about 1905 to the present. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
  • Education Source
    Full-text for over 1700 journals, 550 books, and selected education-related conference papers. Covers elementary education, special education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, and teaching methods. Encompasses all content from Education Research Complete. Provided by SUNYConnect.
  • Environment Complete
    Indexing for over 2200 journals in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and environmental law. Provides full-text for over 900 journals. Coverage is from 1888 to the present. Provided by SUNYConnect.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Features full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press with titles dating from 1990. Contains about 2 million articles from more than 300 publications with both national and regional coverage. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
  • GenderWatch
    Offers authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Coverage is from 1970 to the present. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
  • Google Scholar
    Intended to guide users to scholarly content on the web, this is not the same as regular Google. Google Scholar includes articles from library subscription databases in the results when you search it from on campus. It will also include books in Google Books.
  • Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online)
    Contains about 300,000 journal article citations concerning Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
  • Philosopher's Index
    Provides indexing and author-written abstracts for about 680 scholarly international philosophy journals. Also offers coverage of anthologies and book reviews. Includes journals from about 50 countries with content representing a variety of languages. Coverage is from 1940 to the present. Links to some full-text. Provided by SUNY Oneonta.
 

Finding Books

Milne Library's online catalog lists and describes the books and other materials in the Library and indicates where to find them. It cannot be used to find individual journal articles.
 
The online catalog is the default search box on the library's homepage. A Word Anywhere search is useful if you do not know the exact author, title or subject. Truncate or shorten terms using the question mark (?) or asterisk (*) if uncertain of spelling or searching variations of a word.

For example:

music* retrieves music, musical, musician, musicology
wom?n retrieves woman and women

In your set of results, note availability under the heading "Owned/Out."

WorldCat is an online database listing materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. Use the WorldCat tab on the top right of the library home page. The results list will indicate if Milne Library or Hartwick College owns the item. You can check out items at Hartwick College with your SUNY Oneonta ID card. If you want an item that is not owned by Milne or Hartwick,click on the Interlibrary Loan link to ask Milne Library to borrow the book from another library.

Google Books
Unlike WorldCat and MilneCat, which search only the author, book title, and chapter titles for a book, Google Books searches the full contents of books. Once you find a good book, use the link to "Find a Library" to locate a copy of the book.
 

Finding Reliable Web Sources

Search Engines: Search engines create their listings using automated software without evaluating the contents: Google and bing 

Subject Directories:  Humans select, sometimes evaluate, and organize (by subject) the listings in a directory. Use a directory to browse and to find the "best" sites on a general or popular topic, one such directly is  ipl2.

Wikipedia: Don't use an article from Wikipedia in your bibliography. However, a wikipedia article can be a useful place to get background information and an overview on a topic. The references and links at the bottom of the article often list reliable resources you can use.

FDSYS: The U.S. government publishes an enormous amount of material related to international issues. Use this search engine to find well-reputed sources from the government.

Issues on Global Issues

Global Issues (United Nations)

 Searching tips:

  •          Limit a search to .edu and .gov sites for best quality

o    To do this add site:edu or site:gov to your search. EXAMPLE: college students volunteering site:edu

  •         Limit the search to the TITLE of the page to get more targeted results.

o    To do this add allintitle: in front of your search terms. EXAMPLE: allintitle: organic foods nutrition

Evaluation tips: Use the following checklist as a guide to help you determine the value and validity of all the sources you find as you do your research.

  Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test (California State University at Chico)

 

Plagiarism

When you use information from a book, article, or web site, don't forget to cite it in proper fashion!  Even ideas must be cited. When paraphrasing be sure to use your own language.

Avoiding Plagiarism

Turnitin.com is often used at the College at Oneonta to detect plagiarism.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip