This is the "BIOL 201" page of the "BIOL 201: General Biology III (Lentz)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BIOL 201: General Biology III (Lentz)  

Last Updated: Feb 22, 2012 URL: http://libguides.oneonta.edu/biol201 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
BIOL 201 Print Page
  Search: 
 

Scientific Publications

The Publication process: primary, secondary, and tertiary sources

Primary sources are original works by an author. Examples in biology include firsthand reports of research such as lab reports as well as many journal articles. Most new research in biology is published in the form of journal articles.

Secondary sources can be used to find references to primary sources. Books that are not the original work of the researcher are considered secondary sources.

Tertiary sources include guides to the literature and textbooks.

For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer-review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is Journal of Applied Ecology. An example of a popular magazine is Time.

 

Milne Library Research Guides

  • Biology
    Overview of Milne Library resources available for biological research.
  • Chemistry
    Overview of Milne Library resources available for research in chemistry.

Where to Find Articles

Journal Articles

The databases below are located on the Milne Library home page under the Databases tab.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Provides full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals.
  • ScienceDirect
    Provides full text access to over 2200 Elsevier journals in many fields including biology. Registering for a free account allows the user to save searches and set up alerts for newly published articles for designated topics.
  • JSTOR archive
    Includes about 300 biology related journals. Due to copyright restrictions, the most recent 3 - 5 years are usually unavailable.
  • Academic OneFile
    Indexes about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas from 1980 to the present. Over 38,000,000 articles are available, with some full-text.
  • Google Scholar
    Does not search the same content as Google, but rather, concentrates on scholarly journal articles and books. Full text is available for many articles due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to ***see who cited an article***.
  • BioOne Open Access Titles
    Access to 12 open access journals in biology.
  • Biology Databases at Milne
    Additional database possibilities.

Where to Find the Full-Text of an Article

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on or Find It!. If a full text of the article is available in another database, there will be a link connecting you to that database, where you can locate the article in the appropriate volume, or search for the article by title or author.

 You can also determine whether a periodical is available electronically by entering the periodical title in the search box under Journals tab on the library home page and clicking on Search. If the title is available in electronic form, check the coverage, and click on the database link(s) and search for the item(s) needed. If the title is available in the library, click on "SUNY-Oneonta Print Holdings" and then on "Is it here?" to see the complete holdings.
 
Locating the article in print or microfilm, if  not available in electronic form:
If under "Links to Full Text," there is a link to the title, click on "Journal," and then on "Is it here?" Check "Summary holdings" to see if Milne Library has the particular issue needed and in what form the article can be found. Periodicals are located on compact shelving or in microfilm drawers on floor P.
 
Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:
If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library in any form after you have linked to "Check Library Catalog", you can request the article through the link Request via Interlibrary Loan  on the record for the article needed (see computer screen that comes up after you click on Find It!). You need to be registered to submit ILL requests. See a librarian for help. You can also request articles through the InterLibrary Loan login link on the library web site under the "Services" tab.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    Obtain copies of books and journal articles not owned by Milne Library (free for SUNY Oneonta students and faculty)
  • Library floor plans: Locations of books and journals
    Although the library subscribes to many on-line journals, some titles are still only in print. New issues of print journals are located on the first floor of the library in one of the two reading areas. Older issues are located in the library basement,
 

Need More Help?

E-mail a question to a Milne librarian & get a response within 48 hours Monday through Friday.

Schedule a research consultation with a librarian to discuss your research project in depth.

Call the Research Help Desk at Milne Library at 607-436-2722.

Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip