This is the "MCOM 350 - Arakaki" page of the "MCOM 350: Seminar in Mass Communications (Arakaki)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MCOM 350: Seminar in Mass Communications (Arakaki)  

Dr. Arakaki, Research Resources, Milne Library, SUNY College at Oneonta, Spring 2012
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2013 URL: http://libguides.oneonta.edu/MCOM350Spring2012 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

MCOM 350 - Arakaki Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Periodicals Defined

  • Periodicals are publications issued at regular intervals (daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly) such as newspapers, magazines, and journals.

  • Many periodicals are originally published in print form (available at newsstands and through subscription). The library subscribes to databases that offer an electronic version of the text of selected articles from many periodicals.

  • Use periodicals for current information, for latest trends and research, for hard to find information, and for briefer coverage than books.

  • See the yellow handout - to determine if a periodical is scholarly or "peer-reviewed" as opposed to being a popular or a trade magazine.

Finding Mass Circulation & Industry Periodical Articles

All of the following databases can be found under the Databases tab, on the library's home page. For best results use the Advanced Search features of any database.

Selected Indexes to Articles in Popular Periodicals and Trade Journals

  • Academic Search Complete
    Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present. Provided by SUNYConnect. Youtube

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    Covers all aspects of communication and mass media. Offers indexing and abstracts for over 700 journals with full-text for about 450 journals. Coverage is from about 1905 to the present. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Features full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press with titles dating from 1990. Contains about 2 million articles from more than 300 publications with both national and regional coverage. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
  • GenderWatch
    Offers authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Coverage is from 1970 to the present. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
  • General OneFile
    Provides indexing (with 60% full-text) to about 11,500 general interest magazines and newspapers. About 100,000,000 articles are available. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. Provided by the New York State Library.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Offers full-text current business and legal information as well as a large number of national and international newspapers. Coverage varies, but generally is from 1980 to the present. Provided by SUNY-Oneonta.
    Youtube
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Contains about 2000 viewpoint articles, 1000 topic overviews, 700 court case overviews, and 30 full text periodicals and newspapers. The Research Guide provides tips on analyzing issues with opposing viewpoints, distinguishing fact from opinion, evaluating information sources, and recognizing deceptive arguments. Provided by the New York State Library.
 

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on link to or Find It!. If a full text of the article is available in another database, there will be a link connecting you to that database, where you can locate the article in the appropriate volume, or search for the article by title or author.

You can also determine whether a periodical is available electronically by clicking on the Journals tab on the library home page and entering the periodical title in the search box. If the title is available in electronic form, check the coverage, and click on the database link(s) and search for the item(s) needed. If the title is available in the library, click on "SUNY-Oneonta Print Holdings" and then on "Is it here?" to see the complete holdings.

Locating the article in print or microfilm, if not available in electronic form:

If under "Links to Full Text," there is a link to the title, click on "Journal," and then on "Is it here?" Check "Summary holdings" to see if Milne Library has the particular issue needed and in what form the article can be found. Periodicals are located on compact shelving or in microfilm drawers on floor P.

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library in any form after you have linked to "Check Library Catalog", you can request the article through the link Request via Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed (see computer screen that comes up after you click on Find It!). You need to be registered to submit ILL requests. See a librarian for help. You can also request articles through the InterLibrary Loan login link on the library web site under the "Students & Faculty Services" tab.

 

Finding an Article from a Citation

If you have the citation for a periodical article, use the Journals tab on the left of the library home page. Then type in the title of the journal or magazine. The resulting list will indicate which database(s) include the periodical. Follow the link to one of the databases, then either follow the links to the correct issue of the periodical, or locate a "search" box to type in the title of the article. If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, this will be indicated as well. Follow the link(s) to see what years the library subscribes to.

 

Finding Books

Milne Library's online catalog lists and describes the books and other materials in the Library and indicates where to find them. It cannot be used to find individual journal articles.
 
The online catalog is the default search box on the library's homepage. A Word Anywhere search is useful if you do not know the exact author, title or subject. Truncate or shorten terms using the question mark (?) or asterisk (*) if uncertain of spelling or searching variations of a word.

For example:

music* retrieves music, musical, musician, musicology
wom?n retrieves woman and women

In your set of results, note availability under the heading "Owned/Out." WorldCat is an online database listing materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. Use the WorldCat tab on the top right of the library home page. The results list will indicate if Milne Library or Hartwick College owns the item. You can check out items at Hartwick College with your SUNY Oneonta ID card. If you want an item that is not owned by Milne or Hartwick,click on the Interlibrary Loan link to ask Milne Library to borrow the book from another library.

Google Books
Unlike WorldCat and MilneCat, which search only the author, book title, and chapter titles for a book, Google Books searches the full contents of books. Once you find a good book, use the link to "Find a Library" to locate a copy of the book.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip